This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 429 Food Fight" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 429 Food Fight  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/19thFood Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Classic Catalog Search

Start with a subject search on the name of your food source. Look at the group of books that only have that one subject assigned, (ex. bison), but then scroll through the list. Are there any on history? Other categories that might be useful?

Could there be a broader term to try?  Ex. Game and game birds

Try an advanced keyword search: your food source and (food or social or economic)

What about cookbooks from that time?  Open up this search on cooking limited to books published after 1859 and before 1900.

Maybe too general, but how about these books on the history of American cooking in the 19th century?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America - Andrew F. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: Reference TX 349 .O94 2004
ISBN: 0195154371
Publication Date: 2004-12-09

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink - John F. Mariani
Call Number: Reference TX349 .M266 1999
ISBN: 0867307846
Publication Date: 1999-08-17

What Were People Saying Back Then?

  • American Periodicals Series Online, 1740 - 1900
    - You can search for a specific time range.
    - Too many results with just the name of your food source? Experiment. Try searching it as "All fields (no full text) and in the 2nd box try words you hope to see in the article, like: eat* or prepar* or cook* or dining)
    The wildcard * looks for endings beyond what you type so eat* looks for eat, eats, eating
  • Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890 - 1982
    - This is an index so keep your search simple.
    - You can change refine your results to search for just the older stuff.
  • New York Times [Historical] 1851 -
    - You'll be searching the entire article, so think about words beyond your food source.
  • JSTOR
    Full-text of back issues of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Articles About Back Then

  • America: History and Life
    Use the "Historical Period from" boxes to limit your search to articles about your particular time period
  • Historical Abstracts
    Covers the history of the world, excluding US and Canada, 1450 to present. Look for the "Historical Time Period" feature to limit your search to articles about that time period
  • AGRICOLA - Agricultural Online Access
    Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of agriculture from 15th century to the present.

Other Resources

Reference Department

Profile Image
Thomas Cooper Library Reference Department
Contact Info
Main Floor, Thomas Cooper Library
University of South Carolina
803-777-4866
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bill Sudduth
Contact Info
Thomas Cooper Library
Government Information, Microforms, Newspapers, and Maps Departments
Level 5
777-1775
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Debbie Yerkes
Contact Info
Government Information Dept.
Level 5
777-5699
Send Email
 
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip