This is the "Home" page of the "ASERL - Collection of Excellence - Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ASERL - Collection of Excellence - Education  

The Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) Collaborative Federal Depository Program (CFDP) Center of Excellence (COE) for United States Department of Education (1979-current) materials at the University of South Carolina Libraries.
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/ASERL_ED Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ASERL - CFDP Project

ASERL's Collaborative Federal Depository Library Program

 

ASERL IMLS grant


This project is supported in part by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Any views, findings, conclusion or recommendations expressed in this website do not necessarily represent those of the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

 

USC - Department of Education (1979-) Project

The Department of Education was created by the Department of Education Organization Act (20 USC 3411) and is administered under the Supervision of the Secretary of Education.

The Department is comprised of the following sub-agencies:

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) - ED 1.100's
Special Education and Reabilitative Services Office - ED 1.200's
Insitute of Education Sciences - ED 1.300's
Elementary and Secondary Education Office - ED 1.400's
Presidential Scholars Commission - ED 1.500's
National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE) - ED 1.600's
National Center for Education Research (NCER) - ED 1.700's

 

Association of Southeastern Research Libraries

The Libraries of the University of South Carolina, the University of Kentucky, and the University of Florida are participating in an Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) grant-funded demonstration project called the  "Cooperative Federal Depository Program" (CFDP) under the leadership of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) and build upon the existing Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) administered by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO).

The program seeks to provide workable solutions to address the increasing cost of managing, preserving, and providing access to large collections of Federal government publications through the creation of several comprehensive collections, known as "Centers of Excellence" (COE), of U.S. government information from each Federal government agency.  Built upon the foundation of existing holdings at Federal Depository libraries, these collections will become complete with assistance from both Regionals (libraries that collect government information comprehensively), and Selectives (libraries that collect government information selectively), in the ASERL states.

Centers of Excellence will:

  • Inventory holdings and ensure accurate cataloging and holdings records for extent collections.
  • Actively replace damaged and lost pieces
  • Seek to fill holes in their collections, as necessary
  • Provide active preservation for the collection
  • Catalog the pieces that they own in OCLC, the worldwide union catalog for libraries, and identify them as an archival copy
  • Particpate in GPO's program to set holdings on OCLC for Regionals free of charge, if eligible
  • Enhance the visibility of, and accessibility to, their collections through digitization of holdings or linking to available public domain digital copies, as feasible
  • Actively particpate in ILL/Document Delivery agreements, and
  • Provide expert reference services for and promote the use of their collection

ASERL believes creating the COEs will result in more reliable and predictable access to Federal publications for all libraries and citizens in the Southeastern states by specifying which Federal Depository libraries have the most complete holdings for each agency. ASERL appreciates the effort that all service points at their "centers" are putting into makng sure their users know about the availability of these rich resources.

Contact information:
The University of South Carolina serves as a COE for the United States Department of Education (1979-current).
Contact: Bill Sudduth
Collaborative Federal Depository Program, Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL)
Contact: Cheryle Cole-Bennett

 

Brief History of the U.S. Department of Education (1979-

Congress established the U.S. Department of Education (ED) on May 4, 1980, in the Department of Education Organization Act (Public Law 96-88 of October 1979). Under this law, ED's mission is to:

  • Strengthen the Federal commitment to assuring access to equal educational opportunity for every individual;

  • Supplement and complement the efforts of states, the local school systems and other instrumentalities of the states, the private sector, public and private nonprofit educational research institutions, community-based organizations, parents, and students to improve the quality of education;

  • Encourage the increased involvement of the public, parents, and students in Federal education programs;

  • Promote improvements in the quality and usefulness of education through Federally supported research, evaluation, and sharing of information;

  • Improve the coordination of Federal education programs;

  • Improve the management of Federal education activities; and

  • Increase the accountability of Federal education programs to the President, the Congress, and the public.

 

There has been an office or bureau of Education in the federal government since 1867.

  • From 1867-1939 the Education Bureau (1867-1929) and then Education Office (1929-1939) were part of the Department of the Interior (I 16).
  • In 1939 the Office of Education was transferred to the Federal Security Administration (FS 5) by Reorganization PLan 1 of 1939.
  • In 1953, the Office was transferred to the newly created Department of Health, Education, and Welfare by Reorganization PLan 1 of 1953. From 1953 through 1969 both the FS 5 and HE 5 classifications were used for the Office of Education. In 1970, the FS 5 classification ended with the demise of the Federal Security Administration.
  • From 1970-1972, Office of Education publications were classed HE 5
  • In 1972 the Education Division (HE 19) was established within the Department of Health, Education and Welfare.
  • From 1972-1975, Office of Education publications continued to be classed HE 5
  • From 1976-1979, Office of Education publications were classed HE 19.100
  • The National Institute of Education was established in 1972.  From 1972-1975 publications were classed HE 18; in 1975 the class was changed to HE 19.200
  • The National Center for Educational Statistics was created in 1972, from 1972-1975 publications were classed HE 5 From 1975-1975 piblications were classed HE 19.302

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bill Sudduth
Contact Info
Thomas Cooper Library
Government Information, Microforms, Newspapers, and Maps Departments
Level 5
777-1775
Send Email
 
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip