Top Databases and some advice
- Guide to Searching for World LiteratureComparative Education Review Guide to Searching for World Literature 2021. https://doi.org/10.1086/716415
- Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection. Expand your search to PASCAL Delivers to find and request materials from other South Carolina academic libraries.
- Education Source and ERIC This link opens in a new windowCombined direct access to both of the major education databases.
Are you looking for a topic, but not necessarily a particular country outside of the United States? ERIC usually tags those articles with foreign countries or cross cultural studies. Education Source usually tags with the name of the particular country. If more than one country it uses cross cultural studies.
Try adding more terms: international, terms for different regions or types of countries (Africa*, Europe*, Latin America*, South America* developing countries)
If you can narrow your results without adding the geographic component, it may be more efficient to browse the results.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowConnect directly to USC subscription content:
*Click on the three horizontal bars in the corner, Select Settings and click on Library links
*Search and select UofSC University Libraries - ViewIt@UofSC
*Click Save
Never purchase an article! Check the library's resources or make a free ILL request. - Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. - PAIS Index [Public Affairs Information Service] This link opens in a new windowIndex to political, economic, and social issues in international journals, books, government publications, and reports.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Newspapers, including internationalAccess World News and NexisUni are the two largest and most current of our newspaper databases that include non-US sources.
- More database optionsDiscover databases in different subject areas/disciplines that could relate to your topic.
Annual Bibliographies, Comparative Education
Need to get some ideas? The journal Comparative Education Review publishes a bibliography on comparative and international education every year covering research in the field (and not just within that one journal).
- 2015 CIES BibliographyOpen link, then select PDF
- 2014 CIES BibliographyOpen link, then select PDF
Background Sources, Reference Books
Comparative and International EducationISBN: 1787434613Publication Date: 2020Online. Addresses the evolution and current state of the scholarly field of comparative and international education over 200 years of development. Experts in the field explore comparative and international education in each of the major world regions
Education at a GlanceAvailable online. Information on the state of education around the world; the financial and human resources invested in education; access, participation and progression in education; and the learning environment and organization of schools
Encyclopedia of Language and EducationPublication Date: 2017Online. Each of the 10 volumes has a theme
International Handbook on School Effectiveness and ImprovementPublication Date: 2007Available online
- Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 120 subject encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in business and the social sciences.