This is the "Find Articles on Latina/o Authors and Issues" page of the "LASP 311" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LASP 311  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/LASP311 Print Guide RSS Updates
Find Articles on Latina/o Authors and Issues Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sources for Book Reviews and Biographies

  • Book Review Digest Plus
    An index of reviews for both fiction and non-fiction books, with coverage back to 1983. Includes descriptive annotations, citations, review excerpts, book summaries, and more than 100,000 full-text reviews.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Newspapers are often a good source for reviews of regional writers.
  • Biography in Context
    Database of full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
  • Biography Index Past and Present
    Coverage begins with the first volume of Biography Index published in 1946 leading you to article and book citations for biographical information on subjects in all fields, nationalities, and time periods.
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
    Biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Historical Newspapers

  • New York Times (Historical)
    Complete full text coverage of The New York Times newspaper from 1851 through 3 years ago.
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
    Digitized version of one of the U.S.'s leading Black newspapers. This resource was acquired by University Libraries with generous contributions from the Department of History in the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Journalism and Mass Communications, USC-Columbia.
  • Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
    The most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century.
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
    One of the most widely circulated African American newspapers during the early twentieth century, the Pittsburgh Courier focused on social and cultural issues relating to the African American community.

Recommended Databases for Literary Criticism


Search for articles on your topic in one of the following online databases.

Databases for finding sholarly research on Latino/Hispanic America issues & history

The following databases are general, but include coverage of literary criticism
  • Academic Search Complete
    Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals, including many that are peer-reviewed.
  • America: History and Life
    Historical coverage of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, containing citations and abstracts for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations published since 1964.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Access news, business, and legal sources. These include regional, national, and international newspapers, news wires, broadcast transcripts, non-English language news sources, magazines, trade journals, business publications, SEC filings, law reviews, statutory, administrative and case law.
  • Political Science Complete
    Full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles in political science, international relations, and law.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Full-text articles from over 300 English-language journals and indexing for nearly 750 journals in the social sciences.
  • America's News [NewsBank]
    Fulltext content from over 2,000 local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, news video, and news blogs. Coverage varies by title, with some titles providing fulltext since the late 1970s. Includes The State and other SC newspapers.

    NewsLibrary.com has some newspapers not in our subscription to America's Newspapers. You can search NewsLibrary as an index for free but will be prompted to pay for the full article.

Librarian

Profile Image
Sharon Verba
Contact Info
Reference Department
Thomas Cooper Library
(803) 777-8173
Send Email
 

Locate JOURNALS Online

I already have a citation.  Where can I locate my article online?

Use E-Journals  to search by JOURNAL title. Click image to watch the video.

RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip