Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: Biology

Top Picks

Biology

"The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications." (Openstax)

Microbiology

Created by Boundless, this is an introductory textbook for basic microbiology courses. It builds on basic biology knowledge and leads students through complex and simple aspects of the science.

Microbiology

"Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health." (Openstax)

Human Anatomy and Phsyiology

"This “streamlined” text provides detailed information about the salient topics covered in a traditional first year two course sequence in college Anatomy and Physiology without a lot of peripheral information." (Forciea)

Anatomy and Physiology

"The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course" (Openstax)

Textbook Databases

These links will take you directly to the portions of textbook databases that contain materials relevant to your subject. This is not an exhaustive list; we encourage you to investigate the Open Textbooks tab for additional content. 

Multimedia

General Purpose Databases

Journal and Article Databases

Search for Similar Materials by ISBN