Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: Chemistry

Top Picks

General Chemistry Principles, Patterns, and Applications

With this text, students will be introduced to the basics of chemistry and the overlap of chemistry and other disciplines. Intended for a first year chemistry course which covers all the basics in a new and exciting way.

Chemistry by Boundless

A textbook by boundless provided for beginning chemistry courses which covers basic topics. This text is made for students with little to no chemistry knowledge and is accessible to the public. 

Chemistry

"Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them." (OpenStax)

Chemistry

"This course provides an opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them, meeting the scope and sequence of most general chemistry courses." (OER Commons)

Virtual Textbook for Organic Chemistry

A virtual textbook provided as a resource for organic chemistry which assumes knowledge of basic chemistry, and is geared towards building on it. Includes pictures and charts in the text as well as practice problems.

Textbook Databases

These links will take you directly to the portions of textbook databases that contain materials relevant to your subject. This is not an exhaustive list; we encourage you to investigate the Open Textbooks tab for additional content. 

Search for Similar Materials by ISBN

Multimedia

General Purpose Databases

Journal and Article Databases