Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: History

Top Picks

U.S History

This textbook provided by Boundless provides comprehensive United States history beginning before Europeans encountered the continent through America in the 21st century. It is designed as an introductory text for a full course semester.

A History of the United States, Vol. 2

Beginning with Western Expansion, this text provided by Saylor Academy covers Western Expansion through the present. It is designed for a full semester course for students with both history and non-history majors.

U.S History

"The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender." (openstax)

A Comprehensive Outline of World History

"Each chapter covers a period of historical time (e.g. a century). Sections within chapters describe what was going on in every geographical region of the world; each section provides a reference for that region in the subsequent chapter", so a comprehensive view of the entire world at all times is avilable (Jack Maxfield, author)

World History

This textbook provided by Boundless provides a comprehensive look at several regions throughout history. It covers a full semester of work and is meant for beginning level courses.

Textbook Databases

These links will take you directly to the portions of textbook databases that contain materials relevant to your subject. This is not an exhaustive list; we encourage you to investigate the Open Textbooks tab for additional content. 

General Purpose Databases

Journal, Article, and Report Databases

Search for Similar Materials by ISBN