Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: Political Science

Top Picks

American Government by Timothy O'Lenz

"From Florida Atlantic university Department of Political Science comes an exciting new book that explores the role of government, politics, and policy in American lives. Full of real life applications and scenarios, Lenz and Holmans provide a text intended to encourage and enable political thinking" - theorangegrove.org

American Government by OpenStax

"American Government is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester American Government course. The book provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of American Government and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them" -cnx.org

International Political Economy: An Introduction to Approaches, Regimes, and Issues by Timothy C. Lim, Ph.D

This introductory international political economy textbook written by Dr. Timothy C. Lim and published by Saylor Academy Books covers major topics in international political economy such as foundational and contemporary theories, trade, and the global economy. The textbook includes a glossary and chapter questions at the end of the book.

International Trade: Theory and Policy

This text published by saylor.org covers international trade in an approach which strives to marry a thorough of understanding models for the average political science or economics student.

American Government and Politics Today 2011-2012

Created by boundless for learning an introductory level foundation in political science, and fully customizable, this text provides the basics for American Government courses.

Textbook Databases

These links will take you directly to the portions of textbook databases that contain materials relevant to your subject. This is not an exhaustive list; we encourage you to investigate the Open Textbooks tab for additional content. 

General Purpose Databases

Journal, Article, and Report Databases

Search for Similar Materials by ISBN