Digital Collections
We've digitized some of our collection so these resources are available to anyone, anywhere, at any time.
- Rev. Joseph A. DeLaine PapersA Methodist minister from Clarendon County who was involved in civil rights issues, including the Briggs v. Elliott case.
- Equality of Educational Opportunity reportThis report was submitted in response to Section 402 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Sometimes referred to as the Coleman report.
- Historical SC Newspapers, Education TopicsBe sure to take a look at Education under the S.C. History Topics tab. The digitization of South Carolina newspapers is part of the Chronicling America project.
- Kenneth Frederick Marsh Photograph CollectionImages include some from Chester and Chester County
- Henry Nichols Photography Collection (Chester County Historical Society)Images of everyday life, from birth to death, in and around Chester County, South Carolina as well as examples of Mr. Nichols’s skill at “trick photography.” Part of the South Carolina Digital Library
- South Carolina Digital Library
- SC Digital AcademyFor the K-12 crowd, showcasing lesson plans with primary source materials to use with students.
Online Reference Books
- International Encyclopedia of Education3rd edition (2010), 8 volume set
- SAGE Reference Online, EducationIncludes: Encyclopedia of African American Education and Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
- Dictionary of Education
Quick Catalog Search
Classic Catalog Search
When you know the subject terms, the organization of a subject search can be helpful (click on the link to launch the search):
school integration segregation in education
discrimination in education racism in education
Briggs Harry Topeka Kan Board of Education
African Americans--Education--South Carolina
Catalog Services
With the barcode on the back of your CarolinaCard you can:

Have books brought to a library service desk nearest you, including those from the Library Annex. Faculty can have deliveries to campus offices.
PASCAL Delivers With a couple of clicks, search for and request books from other SC academic libraries.
with My Account
- renew books
- save searches and be alerted to new materials
- activate "Reading History" and have the system keep a record of all the books you check out even after you return them
Librarian |
Contact Info Marilee Birchfield Thomas Cooper Library Reference Department University of South Carolina 803.777.4267 marilee@sc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
