Selected Works by African-American Women Writers
This is the "Home" page of the "African-American History Month - February 2012" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African-American History Month - February 2012   Tags: african_american, african_american_history, history, south_carolina_history, united_states_history  

In celebration of African-American History Month, University Libraries provides a guide to information on the history and culture of African-Americans.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/africanamericanhistorymonth Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Thomas Cooper Library is proud to celebrate African-American History Month!

The University Libraries hold a wealth of information on African-American history. Please use the tabs above to find books, research materials, digital collections, and many other materials. Also, visit the African-American History Month display in Thomas Cooper Library on the Main Level.

If you have any questions you can chat with a librarian at the Research and Reference Help desk or by using our Ask-A-Librarian feature!

 

African-American History Month Display

The African-American History Month Display is located near the Research and Reference Help desk on the Main Level of Thomas Cooper Library. These books represent some of our best materials from and about African-Americans from various fields.

See something you would like to read or watch? These items are ready to be checked out!

 

University Libraries' News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Spotlight: Living History Makers

Every day, African-Americans continue to make strides throughout the nation! The famous faces featured below are just some of the many African-Americans who are still making history today through their achievements.

Learn more about some of America's Living History Makers by visting the Biography In Context database. Biography In Context is a comprehensive database of full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

From Gale Biography in Context. Photo Credit: Jim Gipe. Smith College

Dr. Ruth J. Simmons

First African-American President of an Ivy League University (Brown)

(2001 - Present)

From Gale Biography in Context. Photo Credit: © Pete Souza/Obama Transition Team/Handout/CNP/Corbis.

President Barack Obama

First African-American President of the United States

(2009 - Present)

From Gale Biography in Context. Photo credit: AP/Wide World Photos

Rita Dove

First African-American Female U.S. Poet Laureate

(1993-1995)

From Gale Biography in Context. Photo credit: UPI Photo/Kevin Dietsch

Charles F. Bolden, Jr.

First African-American Administrator of NASA

(2009 - Present)

From Gale Biography In Context. Photo credit: The Bettmann Archive

Sidney Poitier

First African-American Academy Award Winner for Best Actor

(1963)

 

The History of African-American History Month

African-American History Month arose from the tireless efforts of historian Dr. Carter G. Woodson, who succeeded in establishing the week of February 12, 1926 as the nation's first "Negro History Week." Each year thereafter, the second week in February was set aside to celebrate this occasion. In 1976, the celebration was extended to a full month, with February 1976 becoming the first "National Black History Month." Since 1976, each President has issued African-American History Month proclamations.

Source:

"BLACK (AFRICAN-AMERICAN) HISTORY MONTH: FEBRUARY 2012." States News Service 4 Jan. 2012. Gale Biography In Context.

Quick Links

  • African Studies Program at USC
    Dedicated to fostering a critical understanding and sustained engagement with African politics, history, and culture.
  • African-American Studies Program at USC
    Provides undergraduate majors and minors with the interdisciplinary tools and resources to study the experiences of people of African descent and to evaluate black historical, cultural, social, economic and political developments in South Carolina, the South, the United States, and beyond.
  • Institute for African-American Research at USC
    The Institute serves as an interdisciplinary hub, actively bringing together faculty and students to engage in scholarly exchange and collaborative research which transcends traditional academic borders. It also acts as an open forum via which current projects, varying from history to law; public health to political science; business, music, anthropology and much more are showcased throughout the academic year.
  • Office of Multicultural Student Affairs at USC
    In order to produce positive effects upon multicultural student retention and success, the Office of Multicultural Student Affairs offers a myriad of Cultural Support Services, Diversity Education Initiatives, and Multicultural Programming. These programs, services, and initiatives focus on the development of all students at the University of South Carolina.
  • USC's Black Faculty and Staff Assocation
    The Black Faculty and Staff Association serves as a resource for African-American faculty and staff at the University of South Carolina – Columbia. Members of BFSA are provided opportunities for personal and professional development, for networking, and for involvement in concerns that affect African-Americans on the USC campus.
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip