Skip to main content

Social Work: Find Dissertations

Use this guide for help with library research in the field of social work.

Dissertations

When looking for dissertations, use these resources.

Dissertations & Theses 

 This database includes indexing, abstracting, 24-page previews and often full-text of over 90 percent of doctoral dissertations in North America and contains thousands of international titles.

Dissertations & Theses @ the University of South Carolina

A subset of Dissertations & Theses, this database provides USC with access to the citations and abstracts of dissertations authored by our  graduate students who have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing.  In most cases, this will be graduate works published since 1997.

USC Library Catalog search

Searches for both masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations awarded from the USC Social Work program.  This link is an automatic subject search for: University of South Carolina -- Theses -- Social Work.    Use the SORT option by year or reverse year for a chronological listing.  

 

NOTE:  Citations to and some abstracts for dissertations also appear in Social Work Abstracts and other article databases.  These are usually a small subset of the Dissertations & Theses database.  Some dissertations might be easier to identify by keyword in article databases because they use more detailed subject headings.  You can limit your search by using "dissertation" in the document type (sometimes called publication type).

Subject Guide

Bill Sudduth's picture
Bill Sudduth

Contact:
Thomas Cooper Library
Government Information and Maps Department
Level 5 (L516)
Office L518C
777-1775
sudduthw@mailbox.sc.edu