Skip to main content

Health Services Policy and Management: Find Articles

Resources for students and faculty in the Department of Health Services Policy and Management, the Arnold School of Public Health.

Rank of HSP&M Journals

Find out which HSPM journals in your area have the most impact by looking them up and comparing them in Journal Citation Reports.

You can search by title or try the following Science Subject Categories:

  • Health Care Science & Services
  • Public, Occupational and Environmental Health

Under Social Sciences try:

Have you seen?

Find HSP&M Articles

Search for articles on HSP&M related topics in one of the following individual or collections of online databases.

Find Journal Articles

You've finally narrowed down the topic of your paper and you're ready to find some articles . . . now what do you do?  To find articles on your topic, you'll want to search in databases and indexes. 

  • Databases, Indexes, and other Resources are available from University Libraries are available at the Electronic Resources Page or by clicking on Indexes in the grey link bar at the top of any University Libraries webpage. Additional suggestions are in the box immediately below this one.

 

  • To find resources best suited for your needs, select your subject from the box on the left, choose All types and click View Sources.

 

 

  • If you know the name of a Electronic Resource, you can Browse Alphabetic List for it directly from the Electronic Resources main page by clicking on the first letter of the name.

 

NOTE: If you haven't done this before, you can save a lot of time and effort by asking a librarian or other trained searcher for advice on selection and use of databases.

Bibliographic Databases can be broken down into categories by function as follows:

  • General Purpose.  These are often the best choice to learn how to use databases.  They are terrific for researching all University topics although, perhaps, not to the extent that some of the subject databases go.  Once you master one of these, the others will be much easier to learn.
  • Subject Databases. These are usually focussed on a particular subject area and are often coupled with others that are related, subject wise.  One example might be CINAHL which can easily be searched with nursing related databases such as those dealing with medicine, nutrition, social work or psychology.
  • Specialty Databases.  These are databases that work with journals and papers but their main function might not be to give you articles.  Science Citation Index , for example, is designed to connect you to papers referenced by another paper or to papers that reference a paper of interest.  It is useful for identifying who the leading authors in a given subject area are. Journal Citation Report tabulates the number of articles published in a journal, how often they are cited and thus provides a variety of metrics to gauge the impact of the journal on its field.

Cabell's Directory

In Cabell's, you can find acceptance rates, manuscript guidelines, and review process information for journals. Search by topic areas, words in journal name, acceptance rate, type of review process, or publisher.

Looking for Business Newspapers