Skip to main content

Graduate Student Guide to USC Libraries: Research

Articles, Electronic Journals, and Dissertations

Multi-Search vs. Library Collections and going beyond our collection

Quick Search Library Collections - Library Catalog
searches metadata about articles and what is in the library catalog books, movies, recordings etc the library has but you won't find articles
every word searched, keep it simple more complex searching possible, different types of searches
login to get articles in results  

Classic Catalog Search
 
Advanced Search

 

For books we have, use the Request link in the catalog to have books brought to a library service desk nearest you, including those from the Library Annex. Faculty can have deliveries to campus offices.

If the library does not have a book you need, we have services available to help you get it.

Getting Materials

From a database

A lot of databases have links to the full text of the article right in the database. 

No full text link? Click to search e-journals.

Not available online?  Check the library catalog to see if it's on our shelves. Come to the library or make a Scan and Deliver request through your Interlibrary Loan account. You'll get an email once the article is scanned and available from your account. First time users need to create your Interlibrary Loan account.

When we don't have something

If the libraries don't have a publication, but you really want the article, book or whatever it is, make an Interlibrary Loan  request.  There's no charge to you, but first time users will need to register for the service.

Don't come to campus?

Are you a student at a distance?  See what request and delivery services are available to you.

Cited Reference Searching: Pull your research forward

Find out who has cited specific articles, books, etc. or particular authors. Google Scholar and Web of Science have cited reference searching.  If you use the library's link for Google Scholar (it includes our proxy), you'll be able to find cited references from both.

Keeping Current: Set up alerts

The library catalog, along with most article databases and journal providers, has a way to save searches and send you automatic e-mail alerts (or RSS feeds) when new material matches your search terms. Here's a sample:

Get Assistance