Skip to main content

Primary Sources: Magazines & Journals as Sources

This guide aims to help you identify common types of primary sources in the University Libraries’ collections and those that are freely available on the Internet. It doesn't cover finding source material in other museums, libraries or other collections

Articles from a Particular Time Period

If you want to find articles on a particular subject published during a particular time, you'll want to find out if there is a relevant index or bibliography. The library has many indexes which go back further than the electronic indexes. Your best bet is to talk to a librarian to identify appropriate indexes, but keep in mind that not all periodicals are indexed.  A sample of older indexes include:

Periodicals Written for a Particular Audience

But what if you want to find the titles of periodicals geared towards a particular audience and published during a certain time period? Consulting a bibliography, guide or book on the history of periodicals will be helpful. Search the library catalog.  Some possible subject searches to try:

 

African American periodicals    English periodicals    Business- -periodicals    Children's periodicals
American periodicals- -bibliography    British periodicals    Employee's magazines    Youth's periodicals
American periodicals- -history    House organs    Women's periodicals



Some guides include:

Annotations: A Guide to the Independent Critical Press
Ref PN4784 .U53 A557 1999
Black Journals of the United States
Ref PN4882.5 .D36 1982
Children's Periodicals of the United States
Ref PN4878 .C48 1984
The Conservative Press in Eighteenth-and Nineteenth-Century America
Ref PN4888 .C598 C66
The Conservative Press in Twentieth-Century America
Ref PN4888 .C598 C664 1999
From Radical Left to Extreme Right
Ref Z7165.U5 S473 1987
Women's Periodicals in the United States: Social and Political Issues
Ref PN4879 .W614 1996
Women's Periodicals in the United States: Consumer Magazines
Ref PN4879 .W6 1995

Subject Guide

Reference Desk Thomas Cooper Library's picture
Reference Desk Thomas Cooper Library
Contact:
Thomas Cooper Library
803-777-4866
Subjects:Special Topics