Skip to main content

International and Comparative Education: Find Articles

Created initially for EDFN 741, this guide provides links to sites with statistics and offers some searching tips geared towards comparative and international education

Find Articles

Are you looking for a topic, but not necessarily a particular country outside of the United States?  ERIC usually tags those articles with foreign countries or cross cultural studies.  Education Source usually tags with the name particular country.  If more than one country it uses cross cultural studies.

Try adding more terms:  international, terms for different regions or types of countries (Africa*, Europe*, Latin America*, South America* developing countries)

If you can narrow your results without adding the geographic component, it may be more efficient to browse the results.

Key indexes for finding articles and other sources in education.

Annual bibliographies, comparative education

Need to get some ideas?  The journal Comparative Education Review publishes a bibliography on comparative and international education every year covering research in the field (and not just within that one journal).

Getting the full text of an article

1.  Some databases will have links to the full text of the article right in the database.  The articles usually have a link for either HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, or Linked Full Text under the citation information. 

2.  If a full text link does not appear, click

Full Text Finder searches the Libraries' e-journals list.

3.  If the article isn't available online, search the library catalog to see if the journal is on the library shelves. Come to the library and get the article or USC students, faculty and staff can use Scan and Deliver through your interlibrary loan account. The article will be scanned and delivered electronically to your desktop. 

4.  When we don't have the publication, but you really want the article you can request it through Interlibrary Loan [ILL].  First time you use ILL you'll need to register.

Are you a student at a distance?  See what request and delivery services are available to you.

Electronic Journals

Searching advice from the field