Skip to main content

International and Comparative Education: Federal & International Sources

Created initially for EDFN 741, this guide provides links to sites with statistics and offers some searching tips geared towards comparative and international education

Federal Sources

International Activities page-National Center for Education Statistics

Provides access to studies & data comparing US and other countries

 International Data Base - US Census Bureau

 Provides broad population data by country-Age, sex, mortality

 International statistical agencies-US Census Bureau

Direct links to national statistical agencies. Many have English translations

 

Other organizations

  Education -OECD

 Organization of 34 countries whose mission is to improve the economic and social well-being of the people of the world.

Education & Skills Today-Blog

  Education-Council of Europe

Human rights organization  

 

UN & UN Related Sources

 

UNITED NATIONS

  UNData     Portal to statistical databases

 

 Education-UNICEF

  Statistics-UNICEF     

  Publications-UNICEF

    Search by "Education" in subject field

    Evaluation and Research Database    Full text since 2000.  Click on "Reports by theme" and choose "Education"

 

  Education for the 21st century- UNESCO

  Education statistics- UNESCO

  Publications & documents- UNESCO

 

  Education- World Bank

  Education statistics - World Bank

   Publications & document -World Bank 

Click on "By topic"; "Education" has 35 headings

European Union

Many EU publications are available through USC's online catalog.

EUROPEAN UNION

  Eurydice  

   Provides information on education systems & policies in Europe, and produces reports on issues in European education

  Eurydice-Archives

EU Book Shop

Provides access to many EU publications & reports, most available full text online.

Eurostat

Statistical office of the EU

  Eurostat-Education & training

Directorate-General for Education and Culture

  Education and training

CEDEFOP-European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training