Skip to main content

UNIV 401 (Prof. Jones): Find Articles

This guide is intended to help students in UNIV 401 (Prof. Jones) research and complete their projects.

Find Articles - Subject Databases

Databases, Indexes, and other Resources are available from University Libraries are available at the Article Databases page or by clicking on Articles and Databases link on the University Libraries webpage.

    To find resources best suited for your needs, select your subject from the box on the left. Ignore the "Types" category on the right. 

      If you know the name of a database, you can Browse Alphabetic List for it directly from the Article Databases main page by clicking on the first letter of the name.

      Remember, most of the databases are available off-campus, but you will need to proxy into the databases either from the Article Databases page or from this guide to get full access.  You will be asked to enter your network username and password, this is the same that you use for Blackboard.

        Find Articles - General Databases

        Try one of the following General article databases to locate articles on a specific topic.  The databases listed below cover virtually every area of academics, although not any one area in depth.

        The library also has access to subject specific article databases for most every discipline.  To view a complete listing of article databases for specific subject areas, go to the electronic resources page and select the subject that best suits your needs.

        Getting the full text of an article

        1.  Some databases will have links to the full text of the article right in the database.  The articles usually have a link for either HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, or Linked Full Text under the citation information. 

        2.  If a full text link does not appear, click the Find Text Image button.  The Find Text button searches the Libraries' e-journals list.

        3.  If the article isn't available online, search the library catalog to see if the journal is on the library shelves. Come to the library and get the article or USC students, faculty and staff can use Scan and Deliver through your interlibrary loan account. The article will be scanned and delivered electronically to your desktop. 

        4.  When we don't have the publication, but you really want the article you can request it through Interlibrary Loan [ILL].  First time you use ILL you'll need to register.

        Are you a student at a distance?  See what request and delivery services are available to you.

        Find Articles Videos

        Click the link below to view the videos.  Make sure your sound is turned on.

        ILL Express!