Skip to main content

Using Databases and E-Journals: Article Databases

Helpful instructions and tips for accessing and utilizing the library's electronic resources.

Printing, Saving & Emailing Results

You can print or save your search results from databases available on the Electronic Resources web page.  Some databases offer you the option of e-mailing the records.  Instructions vary depending on which database you are using.

If you are using these databases in the Thomas Cooper Library, your records will print to any of the black and white print stations in the Thomas Cooper Library. The charge is 10 cents per page. There is one color printer in the Thomas Cooper Library. Cost of a color printout is 25 cents per page.   **Before you print, always use the Print Preview feature to see how long your printout will be.**

Emailing and saving instructions are database specific. Please follow the instructions from within the database to successfully email or save records.  If you are saving from a computer in Thomas Cooper, please be sure to save to a flash drive or the Sky Drive in your student email.

For additional help with printing, saving or e-mailing records please visit the Reference Desk or use the Ask-A-Librarian service.

Accessing & Selecting Databases

One of the most effective ways to search for scholarly and popular articles is by searching our article databases.  Below are steps to help you get started accessing our article databases.

Step 1: From library.sc.edu click on the Article Databases link at the top of the page.

 

Step 2:  You will now be on the Electronic Resources page.  From here, you can browse databases by category, type or title.

Browsing by category allows you to pull up lists of general or subject specific article databases.  "All purpose" resources, such as Academic Search Complete, cover a large range of topics and serve as an excellent starting point for most types of research.  Subject specific resources, such as PsycInfo, have a much narrower focus and deal primarily with a single area of research.  If you are researching a topic in Biology for instance, click “Biology.”  This will take you to a page of resources that pertain specifically to Biology. 

Browsing by type compiles resources that provide access to specific types of information, such as biographies or newspapers. 

If you know the name of the resource that you would like to access, you can click on a letter under “Browse by Name” and pick out the resource from the resulting list or you can enter the name of the database into the provided search box.  If you need any further assistance, please contact a librarian.

Step 3: Once you have selected the parameters for the types of resources you would like to search, you will be taken to the compiled list of resources.  Click on the title to enter the resource's interface, and from there you will be able to search for information held or indexed by that resource.  If you are working from off-campus or through the wireless network, you will be prompted to login to obtain Off-Campus Access.