Skip to main content

HIST 300: Historian's Craft: Secondary Articles

Thomas Cooper Library resources and services especially for HIST 300: Historian's Craft

Find Online Journals

Find Print Journals

The journal article I'm looking for is not available online. Is there another way that I can access my article?

Use the library catalog to determine if the library owns the journal in hardcopy. Search by JOURNAL title.

Find Articles & More

Find citations to history articles, book chapters, dissertations and conference proceedings in these databases:

Getting the full text of an article

1.  Some databases will have links to the full text of the article right in the database.  The articles usually have a link for either HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, or Linked Full Text under the citation information. 

2.  If a full text link does not appear, click

Full Text Finder searches the Libraries' e-journals list.

3.  If the article isn't available online, search the library catalog to see if the journal is on the library shelves. Come to the library and get the article or USC students, faculty and staff can use Scan and Deliver through your interlibrary loan account. The article will be scanned and delivered electronically to your desktop. 

4.  When we don't have the publication, but you really want the article you can request it through Interlibrary Loan [ILL].  First time you use ILL you'll need to register.

Are you a student at a distance?  See what request and delivery services are available to you.