Skip to main content

ENVR 490 (Harrison): Articles

A guide to resources to complete the Final Project Assignment - The Spacial and Societal Effects of Local and Regional Energy Systems

Need Assistance?

Find Full Text

The databases on this page will get you started with your research. For a complete listing of our journal article databases, visit our Articles and Databases page. 

Need to find full text? Look for full text to articles in PDF or HTML format. If it is not available, click the button to automatically search our other holdings.

Have a citation? If you have an article in mind, use Locate Online Journals by Title. Follow the links to find full text if owned by our library.

Need something we don't have? If you need a book or article that Thomas Cooper Library doesn't own, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Find Journal Articles and More

Article databases from the University of South Carolina's Thomas Cooper Library that may be particularly useful for this assignment. Or, research any of our other 400+ databases by clicking here.

Primary Sources in the Sciences

Primary sources in the sciences are different than in the humanities or social sciences.  In the sciences, the focus is on research.  Primary sources are written by the scientists who performed the experiments - these articles include original research data.  Secondary sources summarize or compare research in a particular area.

So how can you tell if a science article is a primary source?  Primary research articles will include sections about:

  • Methodology -  explains how the experiment was conducted
  • Results - details what happened and providing raw data sets (often as tables or graphs)
  • Conclusions - connects the results with theories and other research
  • References - to previous research or theories that influenced the research