Skip to main content

AFAM 498: Research your topic

Prepared for AFAM 498: The Inequalities of Race and Crime in America

Quick Search All Content

  • Login first if not on a university computer
  • Searches many article databases and the library catalog at the same time
  • Keep things simple. Concentrate on the most important words of your topic. For more sophisticated searching use the article databases.

Catalog Search

Classic Catalog Search
Classic Catalog Search

Advanced Search

Catalog Services

With your network username and password you can:

Have books brought to a library service desk nearest you, including those from the Library Annex. Faculty can have deliveries to campus offices.

 

PASCAL Delivers  With a couple of clicks, search for and request books from other SC academic libraries.

 

My Account

- renew books

- save searches and be alerted to new materials

- activate "Reading History" and have the system keep a record of all the books you check out even after you return them

Article Databases

Getting the full text of an article

1.  Some databases will have links to the full text of the article right in the database.  The articles usually have a link for either HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, or Linked Full Text under the citation information. 

2.  If a full text link does not appear, click

Full Text Finder searches the Libraries' e-journals list.

3.  If the article isn't available online, search the library catalog to see if the journal is on the library shelves. Come to the library and get the article or USC students, faculty and staff can use Scan and Deliver through your interlibrary loan account. The article will be scanned and delivered electronically to your desktop. 

4.  When we don't have the publication, but you really want the article you can request it through Interlibrary Loan [ILL].  First time you use ILL you'll need to register.

Are you a student at a distance?  See what request and delivery services are available to you.

Librarian

Marilee Birchfield's picture
Marilee Birchfield

Contact:
Research & Instruction
Thomas Cooper Library
marilee@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-4267