Skip to main content

Immigration in South Carolina: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the South Carolina Political Collections (SCPC) subject guide for Immigration in South Carolina. Please use this guide to find relevant material from our holdings: "Collection Connections." If you have any questions or comments about this guide please contact me.

This guide provides a selection of our relevant holdings, but should not be treated as an exhaustive list. Be sure to check out our finding aids and click on the collections in this guide to review the entire collection. 

Find SCPC

South Carolina Political Collections (SCPC) is located in the Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library and is accessed through Thomas Cooper Library (map).

  

Collection Connections

Box 2. Casework letters from South Carolinians concerning immigration from Europe (1923-1938).

Box 3. Information on immigration and naturalization trials (1952-1956).

Boxes 3, 4. Records dealing with displaced persons from WWII (1949), and Bryson's congressional travel to Europe in 1949 where he examined the plight of Eastern European refugees.

Boxes 6, 27, 41, 47, 54, 60, 65, 71, 76, 97. Records concerning Jewish immigration (1946), the Subcommittee on Immigration and Naturalization (1954-5, 1958-9), the Immigration and Naturalization Act S.2023 (1957), and general immigration information (1951, 1956, 1960, 1965).

Boxes 36, 44, 69, 77. Folders mostly cover correspondence from constituents concerned with contemporary refugee legislation (1950s and 60s). Also includes information on the Walter-McCarran Act (1953-4).

Box 10. Records about immigration (n.d.).

Boxes 126, 153, 155, 175, 179, 205, 208, 278, 308, 334, 357, 376, 400, 420, 444, 466, 495, 517, 541, 565, 662, 735 (audio), 773 (newspaper clippings). Information on immigration and refugees (1969-2004), farm labor (1960-1980), Vietnam refugees and orphans (1973-6), the Agricultural Guest Worker Program or H-2A Visa Laborers (1993-4, 1997-2004), the Elián González case (2000), amnesty immigration reform proposals in Congress (2001-4), the Elian Gonzalez case (1999-2000), and general immigration records including education of immigrant minors, social security benefits for immigrants, temporary foreign workers, and border patrol training.

Box 3. Information on issues including illegal immigrants and English as the Official Language (1990s-present).

Boxes 7, 12. Records including community discussions on immigration (2007-2008), Immigration Committee and Study Consensus, and clippings about the League of Women Voters on immigration.

Boxes 2, 13, 23, 43, 63, 64, 65, 66. General immigration information (1976, 1979, 1984-5, 1987-1993), and also includes records about the Simpson-Mazzolli Immigrant Reform Bill HR 1510 and the Private Immigration Bill HR 5770.

Box 9. General information on immigration (n.d.).

Special Projects Archivist, SCPC

From the archives...