Skip to main content

Environmental Science: Find Articles

Environment Databases

Thomas Cooper Library provides coverage of nearly one thousand journals with an environmental focus. Here are some key databases for finding articles and other high-quality environment information.

Identifying Top Journals

Within any discipline, some journals have higher prestige and impact on their field than others. The metrics that a journal receives relative to its peers is called journal impact and is a useful indicator of which publications you should follow. Journal Citation Reports, or JCR, is a product that measures impact. You can use it to rank journals in your field or evaluate individual journal titles.

For much more on impact, including help with Journal Impact Reports, visit University Libraries' guide, Impact Measures & Acceptance Rates.

 

More rankings of environmental science journals are listed below.

Google Scholar Top Publications in Environmental Sciences

Times Higher Education Top Journals in Ecology and Environmental Sciences

American Sociological Association Section of Environment and Technology
 

Open Access Journals

Open access publications are available freely online to everyone. Unfortunately, there are many examples of predatory open access journals, which may not include good science or adhere to high standards for peer review, many highly regarded open access journals also exist. Visit the Directory of Open Access Journals to find OA journals in your field.

Find Full Text

The databases on this page will get you started with your research. For a complete listing of our journal article databases, visit our Articles and Databases page. 

Need to find full text? Look for full text to articles in PDF or HTML format. If it is not available, click the button to automatically search our other holdings.

If we don't have the article you need electronically, we may have it in print. Search the library catalog for journal titles. For items owned in print but not electronically, you can request one article from a journal using Scan and  Deliver.

Have a citation? If you have an article in mind, use Locate Online Journals by Title. Follow the links to find full text if owned by our library.

For more on these topics, visit our guide, Using Databases and E-Journals.

Need something we don't have? If you need a book or article that Thomas Cooper Library doesn't own, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.