Connecting to ResourcesInterlibrary Loan (ILL)Scan & Deliver
This is the "Company Information" page of the "Company and Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company and Industry Research   Tags: business  

Sources for company and industry information
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/companyind Print Guide RSS Updates

Company Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Financial Company Information

Use the research guides below for detailed instructions on finding company financial statements and SEC filings.

Investment Reports

Investment Reports (aka Equity Research or Analysts' Reports) often contain detailed analysis of your company from experts in the field.

Thomson One contains Investext includes over 7.5 million reports available containing in-depth analysis on international companies, industries, products and countries, as well as active and historical research available from more than 1,200 brokerages, investment banks, and independent research firms around the globe, including Morgan Stanley, Credit Suisse, Deutsche Bank, and J.P. Morgan.

  • Thomson One *Must use Internet Explorer browser*  
      
    *Must use Internet Explorer
    To search Investext reports within Thomson One:
    1. Select "Screenings and Analysis" in top toolbar.
    2. Enter search criteria in Search box in middle of screen and Investext results appear at bottom of screen
    *Reports are searchable by company name, NAICS code, keyword plus many additional fields.
    *Both current reports and retrospective reports back to 1982 are available.

Databases for company research

  • PrivCo  
      
    *Private Company Information
    -Excellent Corporate History
    -Corporate Organization
    -M&A Deals
    -Funding and restructuring information, if applicable
  • Factiva
    Select COMPANIES/MARKETS at top, then COMPANY
    -Search by company name or ticker for company snapshot
    -Find more detailed information by using the menu on left
  • Mergent Online
    Covers all public companies in the US and overseas. Gives detailed facts about the company and extensive financial data. Also includes complete annual reports for the most recent 10 years and SEC filings including 10-K reports through EDGAR.
  • Hoover's Online
    -Covers public companies, some private and non-profit organizations
    -Great company background information and listings of competitors
  • Business Source Complete
    *Select the "Company Information" at the top of the search screen
    -Company profiles cover both public and private companies located in the United States and around the world
    -Provide in-depth information including a company overview, business description, key employees, and top competitors
  • LexisNexis Academic
    *Select Get Company Info at bottom right, then open Company Dossier to search for company information
    -Provides detailed financials and the latest news about companies from magazines and newspapers worldwide
    -Provides executive and director information, as well as Deals updates
    -Also gives basic directory type (brief information) on thousands of small private companies.
  • Passport
    TIP:To search for specific company, try using the search box in upper right hand corner
    -Contains company profiles for both parent companies and their individual subsidiaries in countries around the world.
    -Covers Company Background, Strategic Direction, Competitive Positioning, Production and Retail Value Shares of specific markets.
  • Thomson One *Must use Internet Explorer browser*  
      
    -US and International public company overviews and financials
    -Reuters top news stories, company specific information on deals, ownership, officers and directors.
    -SEC filings (current and historical) and Investext analyst reports.
    Note: See box on left for information on Investment Reports
  • Kompass
    Worldwide directory of companies
    -Contains basic data on each company and is good for identifying key personnel
    -Search by numerous criteria including product code and country
  • Corporate Affiliations Online
    Directory focusing on corporate family trees; now includes historical data (downloadable to Excel)
    -Lists parent companies with worldwide divisions and subsidiaries
    -Includes listing of brand names, advertising agencies, and detailed personnel listings
    -Executive and director information
  • American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
    Comprehensive coverage of the overseas holdings of American firms.
  • Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
    Directory information on foreign companies with American operations
  • Mergent Archives - Historical Annual Reports
    US and International companies with annual reports dating back to 1800s
 

Thomson One User Guide Handout

Help on searching Thomson One to locate Investment Reports

RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip