Find Articles and Books
- Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection. Expand your search to PASCAL Delivers to find and request materials from other South Carolina academic libraries.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowOur most popular article database. You can find newspaper articles, magazine articles, and journal articles on almost any topic. Once you do a search look for the "Source Type" limits on the left if you want to find easier to read magazine and newspaper articles.
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected magazines.
- Newspaper databasesWe have lots of options for searching newspapers! Some are US, some international, some current and some really old.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Looking for information about a person? Try searching here.
- More article databasesNot finding what you need? See the list of all the Libraries' databases.
Online Reference Books for Background and Topic Overviews
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This has a mix of overviews and articles. Good place to look for popular topics if you need an idea for a paper. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use to find quick facts, images or background information on various topics in dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Find Videos
- Find It @ USC LibrariesAfter entering a search, click on Resource Type and select the Videos filter.
- Alexander Street Press Video and Research Collections This link opens in a new windowSearch all the collections we subscribe to from Alexander Street Press at once. Collections cover American and world history, Black Studies, counseling and therapy, dance, ethnographic films and opera.
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new windowStreaming source of independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos with transcripts. Includes both feature films and documentaries. Click on "Visit the SC Collection" and then "Log in to SC" to enter your USC credentials.
Requesting films within Kanopy is no longer available. Faculty and instructors should submit requests using the Suggest A Purchase form. For more information about using library streaming films, please see our Streaming Films Policy.