On-line periodicals
Some important periodicals (such as Scottish Literary Review ) require subscriptions for online access, but the ones below are currently free:
- Burns ChronicleFounded in 1892, this annual volume is the official publication of the Robert Burns World Federation. For vols 1-129 (1892-2020), almost all volumes have now been digitized with private sponsorship and are available open-access through the RBWF site. .
- Studies in Scottish LiteratureThe oldest international refereed journal in the field, founded in 1963 by the Burns scholar G. Ross Roy, and still edited at the University of South Carolina; note especially volume 30 and volume 37, both wholly devoted to essays about Burns
- The Bottle ImpThe on-line journal of the Association for Scottish Literary Studies; note the short descriptions and reviews of recent publications in the field
- International Journal of Scottish LiteratureNote especially issue 6, on Burns and the World, and Burns-related articles in issue 4, on Scottish-Caribbean Connections
- Robert Burns Lives!Over 250 short recent articles about Burns and the enjoyment of Burns by some of the leading Burns scholars, aimed at the general reader, and introduced by Frank Shaw
- International Review of Scottish StudiesAn interdisciplinary journal based at the University of Guelph, Ontario.
Some Robert Burns Web-sites
- BurnsScotlandThis national site includes news of events etc., as well aas bringing together information and images of Burns material in museums and libraries across Scotland (formerly known as the Distributed National Burns Collection).
This section covers general-interest sites, and some Burns research projects, but see also the links for organizations and Burns museums:
- Robert Burns, from the National Library of ScotlandAn informative introduction to Burns's life and the early Burns publications and manuscripts in the NLS
- Robert Burns on Electric ScotlandThis section of a much larger Canadian Scottish website provides a variety of Burns information and links, as well as full text of many of the major Burns printed sources. The web-magazine Robert Burns Lives! is part of Electric Scotland.
- Burns CountryThis site promises "Everything you wanted to know about Robert Burns, Scotland's national bard (and lots more besides)," together with karaoke Auld Lang Syne (and links to the Burns Heritage Park site).
- Centre for Robert Burns Studies, University of GlasgowGlasgow is the research base for the new Collected Edition of the Writings of Robert Burns, as well as continuing a long-running series of annual Burns conferences each January.
Some Burns Museums & Research Collections
Other major library-based research collections include the Mitchell Library in Glasgow, the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh, and the G. Ross Roy Collection at the University of South Carolina.
- The Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, AllowayNot only a place of pilgrimage for nearly 200 years, but also home to a research centre with major manuscript holdings
- Ellisland Farm, Nithsdale, north of DumfriesBurns's farm after he came back west from Edinburgh and for the first years of his marriage.
- Robert Burns House, DumfriesBurns's home in his last years.
- The Robert Burns Centre, DumfriesA modern museum and visitor centre
- Tarbolton Bachelors ClubWhere Burns and friends founded a debating society in 1780: now a small museum focused on Burns's early life.
- Burns Monument Centre, KilmarnockA modern research centre for materials on Burns and east Ayrshire heritage, built around the remaining portion of the Burns Monument destroyed by fire in 2004.
- The Library at Innerpreffray, PerthshireIncludes the Janet St Germain Burns Collection
Some University Programs in Scottish Studies
The list here gives links to a number of prominent centres for Scottish literary studies, but note that it is by no means comprehensive; all the major Scottish universities, and many other universities around the world, offer teaching and research supervision in Scottish Literature.
- Scottish Literature, University of GlasgowThis long-establish program is home to the Centre for Robert Burns Studies, and is also associated with the university's Centre for Celtic & Scottish Studies.
- Celtic & Scottish Studies, University of EdinburghThe archives include 60 years of ethnographic recording from the School of Scottish Studies. Scottish literature teaching and research is also conducted in the university's School of Literatures, Languages & Cultures.
Burns's Birthplace
The cottage in Alloway, near Ayr, built by Robert Burns's father William Burnes, where Burns was born, January 25, 1759.
Some Burns Organizations and Scholarly Societies
Most Burns organizations are not solely for academic study, though membership will include many individuals with great in-depth knowledge of Burns's works and life.
- Robert Burns World FederationThe international umbrella organization to which many local Burns clubs are affiliated: sponsors the Burns Chronicle.
- Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies SocietyAn international scholarly society, sponsoring annual academic conferences, and publishing the magazine Eighteenth-Century Scotland.
- Association for Scottish Literary StudiesIn addition to maintaining a very useful website (with links to online articles on Scottish authors), the Association runs regular conferences and publishes Scottish Literary Review, the Bottle Imp, and other scholarly publications.
- Robert Burns Association of North AmericaRBANA draws members from the U.S. and Canada for an annual conference that mixes Scottish social events with sessions on Burns.
- The Carnie Group, Calgary Burns ClubA study group associated with the Calgary Burns Club, named for the Burns scholar Robert Hay Carnie: the site includes papers about Burns from group meetings.