Connecting to ResourcesInterlibrary Loan (ILL)Scan & Deliver
This is the "Cultures & Consumers" page of the "IBUS 402 (Erickson) Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IBUS 402 (Erickson) Project  

Resources for your assignments in Professor Erickson's International Marketing course
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/content.php?pid=516795 Print Guide RSS Updates

Cultures & Consumers Print Page
  Search: 
 

Cultures

  • CultureGrams
    Use the menu in the left column to find information on cultures in a country, including:
    "People" section--population, language, religion, and more
    "Lifestyle" section--family, housing, diet, arts, and much more
    "Society" section--transportation & communications, education, and health
  • The World Factbook (CIA)
    Great for cultural statistics but does not provide much analysis
  • globalEDGE
    Arguably the best free online resource for global business information developed and hosted by Michigan State University.
    TIP: Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.

Reference Resources for Cultural Information

SAGE Reference Online and Gale Virtual Library contain several useful reference books that can be accessed online and will helpful in developing a basic understanding of a country's culture.

  • SAGE Reference Online
    Several useful reference sources on regional perspectives, family roles in different cultures, business considerations by culture, and more
    *See examples below
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Encyclopedias on modern-day cultures in Asia, Middle East, Africa, as well as information on food and arts by culture (see examples below)
    *Useful categories to select in Gale: History, General, Business
 

Examples of Reference Resources

Examples of the books found in SAGE and Gale Virtual.

Cover Art
Handbook of World Families
Cross-cultural perspective on the family by examining family life in 25 countries worldwide.


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture
Media, technology, environment, and many more topics covered

Cover Art
21st Century Geography
Contains a section on regional perspectives with cultural data

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Global Religion
Discusses the effects of religion in different societies


Consumer Lifestyles

  • Passport
    Hover over COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS to select a consumer datapoint
    --Trends & Lifestyles
    --Income & Expenditure
    --Population & Homes
    In the resulting screen you can select your country/geography under "Analysis Finder"

    **Find information about technology, social media and cell phone use under COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS-->Technology, Communications & Media
  • Mintel Reports Database
    Database mostly focuses on US and UK industries, but you can find reports on consumers in other countries, such as:
    *Drinking Out of the Home
    *Teen Lifestyles
    *Marketing to Parents
    Also useful:
    *Asia-Pacific Retail Handbook
  • Human Freedom Rating
    Find the rating of the human freedom measure by country

Online Resources

Consulting firms focusing in international activities will often publish reports that will contain useful information for understanding consumers and cultures in other countries.

Other useful organizations to consider include associations, think tanks, and foreign government websites.

Below are some example resources, but you should try others from similar resources (be sure to evalute the website for accuracy, currency, authority, and objectivity).

 

Books at USC

There is a lengthy series of "Culture and Customs" books in print at Thomas Cooper Library. See the catalog listing for your region.




Cover Art
Culture and Customs of the Caucasus
Call Number: DK 509 .R68 2009
There is a series of these Culture and Customs books for different regions located in Thomas Cooper Library. Use the Library Catalog to find your specific country.

RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip