Reference Resources for Cultural Information
These sources contain reference books that can be accessed online (examples in boxes below).
- Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSeveral useful reference sources on regional perspectives, family roles in different cultures, business considerations by culture, and more
*See examples below - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias on modern-day cultures in Asia, Middle East, Africa, as well as information on food and arts by culture (see examples below)
*Useful categories to select in Gale: History, General, Business
Gale Virtual Reference Library Examples
Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaInfo on daily life, arts & culture, etc.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaEach country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
Sage Reference Online examples
Handbook of World FamiliesCross-cultural perspective on the family by examining family life in 25 countries worldwide.
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and AfricaAspects of daily life included
Encyclopedia of Consumer CultureMedia, technology, environment, and many more topics covered
21st Century GeographyContains a section on regional perspectives with cultural data
Encyclopedia of Global ReligionDiscusses the effects of religion in different societies
Databases with Culture and Customs Information
The databases below provide detailed information on customs and cultures of other countries.
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GREAT source for quick information on cultures and customs of different countries
"People" section--population, language, religion, and more
"Lifestyle" section--family, housing, diet, arts, and much more
"Society" section--transportation & communications, education, and health - Passport This link opens in a new window(Note: always have to select "Accept" on first screen)
Unique consumer data provided covering many aspects of consumer lifestyles, particularly requirements under "Living Conditions"
Tips:
Dashboards-->Country Overviews under Vis Apps provides quick, useful info on Business Environment, Key Economic Indicators, and Social & Cultural Factors
"Consumer Segmentation" is useful for population distribution
Search Don't overlook this useful function because it allows you to select many components needed for your notebook
- The World Factbook (CIA)Great for cultural statistics but does not provide much analysis
- Fitch Connect This link opens in a new windowPolitical and legal systems found in country's Business Environment reports
- globalEDGE from MSUArguably the best free online resource for global business information developed and hosted by Michigan State University.
- Countries and Their CulturesInformation includes demography, linguistics, food, social stratification, and much more.
- BBC Country ProfilesSearch by country or territory
*Instant guide to history and political leaders
*Specialized Media tab covers the use and sources of media available
- Mintel Reports Database This link opens in a new windowBasic country custom and culture information in the Travel & Tourism Country Reports by country.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowSelect a country in the COUNTRY PROFILE box on the right side of the home screen
--Results in a PDF Country Profile report
Contains info on Political and Legal systems, as well as religion
- Global Guides to Culture, Customs and Etiquette-Covers both social and business etiquette practices
Books at USC
There is a lengthy series of "Culture and Customs" books in print at Thomas Cooper Library. See the catalog listing for your region.
Culture and Customs of the CaucasusCall Number: DK 509 .R68 2009There is a series of these Culture and Customs books for different regions located in Thomas Cooper Library. Use the Library Catalog to find your specific country.
