This is the "Home" page of the "Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Higher Education   Tags: education, higher_ed, higher_education  

This guide highlights key resources and search strategies for higher education, or as Library of Congress calls it, Education, Higher.
Last Updated: Mar 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/highereducation Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

For Education

Reference Dept's APA Style Guide (click on the APA tab)

Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources Thomas Cooper Library Reference Dept, Z5811.B89 2000

In the News

 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Welcome

The tabs above will lead you to quality resources in Higher Education. There is content on the general Education LibGuide that is not replicated here. If you have any questions, comments or recommendations about this guide please let me know.

NEW  A short handout on searching the main education databases is now linked under the Find Article tab.  Besides searching, see the steps you'll take in order to actually find the articles, dissertations, books, and ERIC documents from your searches.

 

Marilee Birchfield marilee@sc.edu.

You may also be interested in two offices housed in Thomas Cooper Library. The Center for Teaching Excellence is in room 511 on level 5. The Student Success Center is on the Mezzanine Level.

 

Full Text from ERIC

Up until Fall 2012, all you had to do was click on the link you see for “Full Text from ERIC.”  ERIC is having to review all the documents (items having an ED number) because social security numbers were found in some documents. 

 

What to do if the "Full Text from ERIC" link doesn't take you directly to the content?  

 

1. It’s possible that the author or an organization other than ERIC has made the document available on the internet.  Try a search in Google or whatever search engine you use.  Don’t be surprised though if the only option brings you right back to ERIC (it’s the freely available version of ERIC.  Same content, just a different interface).

 

2.  If the document is older (2003 and prior) and the ED number is lower than ED 483 046, we have it on microfiche in the ERIC file cabinets in Government Information on level 5 of Thomas Cooper Library.  Contact Government Information, docsref@mailbox.sc.edu or 803-777-4841, to have documents 50 pages or less scanned and e-mailed.  If you plan on coming yourself when the  department is not staffed  (and the ERIC collection is locked) let Government Information know so they can pull the microfiche for you -- you'll still be able to use a reader/scanner.

 

3. Consider filling out the ERIC form with the document number so they can prioritize putting the content back into the database.

 

Creating Searches

Constructing a Keyword Search

and both terms must be present

college attendance and success


or either term may be present

success or achievement


group terms joined by OR

(success or achievement) and student


* wildcard, finds characters beyond the root word (some databases have other symbols)

minorit* finds minority, minorities


Concentrate on searching with descriptors or subject terms. Look for them in a record or search for them if the database (such as ERIC) has a thesaurus.


Sometimes less is more. If you search has a lot of aspects to it, focus on a few of the most important concepts.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Marilee Birchfield
Contact Info
Thomas Cooper Library
Reference Department
University of South Carolina
803.777.4267
Send Email
 
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip