Connecting to ResourcesInterlibrary Loan (ILL)Scan & Deliver
This is the "Country Profiles" page of the "Country Research Guide for International Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Country Research Guide for International Business   Tags: business  

Sources for country information in an international business and economics context
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/country Print Guide RSS Updates

Country Profiles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Resources

  • globalEDGE
    Arguably the best free online resource for global business information developed and hosted by Michigan State University.
    TIP: Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.
  • Encyclopedia of the Nations  
      
    Contains country information such as population, history, ethnic groups, culture, language, transportation, government structure, technology, and contain notes about museums, media, libraries, technology, and much more.
  • Nationmaster  
      
    A vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics for different countries.
  • CIA World Factbook  
      
    Up-to-date facts and stats on countries around the world.
  • BBC News  
      
    Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
    *Includes audio and video clips from BBC archives
    Select a country, territory or international organization
  • Economic Freedom of the World
    Annual reports available that uses 42 distinct pieces of data to measure economic freedom in 141 nations.
  • Social Security Country Profiles
    The Country Profiles serve as an overview of social security programs in the Americas, Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and Europe. Scheme descriptions are provided for over 170 countries and territories, and profiles of complementary and private pensions in 50 countries. Cover national social security programs established by statute that insure individuals against interruption or loss of earnings resulting from old age, disability; sickness and maternity; work injury or occupational disease; unemployment; and child rearing.

Library Databases

  • Business Monitor International
    *Country Risk--includes strategies, macroeconomic indicators, and Risk/Reward Ratings
    *Country Forecast Reports
    *Compare & Export tool--use for country comparisons, including import/export data
  • Business Source Complete
    Select Country Report by "Publication Type" on the home search screen.
    *Examples of helpful country reports included here are Political Risk Yearbook and Country Reviews from CountryWatch. Also an excellent source for magazine and journal articles about countries.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Contains PRS Group's International Country Risk Guides with in-depth analyses of factors that could affect business, trade or investments in countries around the world.
    FIND: Select "Search By Content Type" at top, then select "Country Information" under "People, Places and Things", then select the country and sources to search.
  • Passport
    (Note: Always have to click 'Accept')
    *Country Profiles provide excellent country specific overviews.
    *Country Pulse provide news items about consumer trends within the country.
    *Country Briefing gives Business Environment for a country based on World Bank Doing Business Report.
  • International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
    Not all countries are included
    *Provides some Country Reviews from CountryWatch, CIA Factbook entries, and International Country Risk Guides Annual
    *Limit publication type to Country Reports
  • Factiva
    To find EIU Country Commerce reports:
    - Click on Sources, start typing Economist Intelligence Unit, and select the title from the list
    - In the search box type "country commerce [your country]"
    *Every country may not be included
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip