This is the "Scholarly Archaeological Dig of a Scholar" page of the "EDCS 821" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDCS 821  

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/edcs821 Print Guide RSS Updates
Scholarly Archaeological Dig of a Scholar Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Articles and Dissertation

When searching for articles written by a scholar, see if the database has an author index and select from it.  If not, clue in to how the database lists authors.  For example, should you search with initials or full first name?

In the education databases, search for your scholar as author, but you could also see if there are articles about their work.

  • Google
    Does the scholar have their own web page or posted a copy of their vita?
  • Education Source and ERIC
    Combined direct access to both of the major education databases.
  • Education Index Retrospective
    Could any of your scholars have published prior to 1983? ERIC goes back to 1966, but here's another option for older works.
  • Google Scholar
    type author: or use the Advanced search

    Using your own computer? Have you set the library links to connect to content purchased by the University Libraries?
    - Click "Settings"
    - Click "Library Links"
    - Type University of South Carolina
    - Select University of South Carolina Columbia-USC Columbia eText
    - Select University of South Carolina School of Medicine–Find Fulltext@USC Med
    - Click Save
  • Dissertations and Theses
    Citations, abstracts and possibly full text for over 2 million dissertations and theses primarily from North American institutions.

Find Books

How Others Have Used Your Scholar's Works

You can use these databases to find who has cited your scholar's works.  If your scholar has published in disciplines other than education, these databases would be good places to search. 

  • Google Scholar
    This link uses the library's proxy prefix so it will also show times cited by the Web of Science database. Currently doesn't work well with Chrome browser.
  • Web of Science Core Collection
    Don't let the name fool you, it includes the social sciences. If your scholar doesn't have a very distinctive last name this could be a good option.

Biographical Background

 

Search by Author in the education databases

 

ERIC and Education Source at a Glance handout

If the handout opens in your browser window and you have trouble following the links, try downloading the document by right-clicking on the link below and saving to your desktop.

 

Getting the full text of an article

1.  Some databases will have links to the full text of the article right in the database.  The articles usually have a link for either HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, or Linked Full Text under the citation information. 

2.  If a full text link does not appear, click the Find Text Image button.  The Find Text button searches the Libraries' e-journals list.

3.  If the article isn't available online, search the library catalog to see if the journal is on the library shelves. Come to the library and get the article or USC students, faculty and staff can use Scan and Deliver through your interlibrary loan account. The article will be scanned and delivered electronically to your desktop. 

4.  When we don't have the publication, but you really want the article you can request it through Interlibrary Loan [ILL].  First time you use ILL you'll need to register.

Are you a student at a distance?  See what request and delivery services are available to you.

Librarian

Profile Image
Marilee Birchfield
Contact Info
Marilee Birchfield
Thomas Cooper Library
Reference Department
University of South Carolina
803.777.4267
marilee@mailbox.sc.edu
Send Email
 
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip