This is the "Home" page of the "How to Find Film Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Find Film Reviews  

This guide has been created to assist library users in locating film reviews.
Last Updated: Jun 12, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/filmreviews Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Film Review Basics

When trying to locate film reviews, it is important to know the film's release date. If you do not know the release date of your film, consult the Internet Movie Database. To link to this database, go to www.imdb.com.

 

Need some help?

Electronic Resources

Below you will find links to many of the Library's databases that include film reviews. Beneath each link you will find instructions on how to focus on locating film reviews.   

  • Academic Search Complete (dates vary)
    Enter title of film in first search box. Limit your results to reviews by selecting “Entertainment Review” from the Document Type box which can be found under Search Options.
  • Art Full Text (1984 -)
    Enter title of film in first search box. Limit your results to reviews by selecting “Film Review” from the Document Type box which can be found under Search Options.
  • (FIAF) International Film Archive, (varies but generally 1972- )
    Input the film title in the first search box then select Title from the “in” field. In the second search box enter “Review in AT.” Only three people can use this database at the same time. If you cannot get to the search screen, try again later.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic (1989- )
    Select the “News” tab located on the left. Click the "All News" link. Enter your search terms making sure to select date range that covers your film’s release date. Check Movie Reviews located in the Article Type box.
  • New York Times Historical (1851 through 3 years ago)
    Enter the title of the reviewed work into the first search box and search as “All Fields + text”. Check "Review" in the Document Type box
  • Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega (1983- )
    Using the Advanced Search module, input your film’s title in the first search box and select as title. Limit to “Film Review” in Document Type drop down menu.
  • Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890 - 1982)
    Using the Advanced Search module, input your film’s title in the first search box and select as title. In a second search box input “Motion Picture Reviews” and select as Subject.
  • Variety
    Select the “Review” tab then type of review desired and then enter the title of the work.

    *Note: This resource is ONLY available from within the Thomas Cooper Library*
 

Film Review Resources in Print

Title

Coverage

Location

Filmfacts

1958 – 1977

Cooper Ref PN1993 F555

Film Review Index

 

1882 - 1985

 

Cooper Ref Z5784. M9 F513 1986

Guide to Critical Reviews IV The Screenplay

1963 - 1980

Cooper Ref Z5782 S342

Index to Critical Film Reviews

? - 1975

 

Cooper Ref Z5784 M9 B64

 

An index to short and feature film reviews in the Moving picture world : the early years, 1907-1915

 

1907 - 1915

 

Cooper Ref Z5784 M9 D33 1955

 

New York Times Film Reviews

 

1913 - 2000

 

Cooper Ref PN1995 N4

 

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals

 

1930 – 1971

 

Cooper Ref Z5784 M9 B39

 

Variety Film Reviews

 

1907 - 1994

 

Cooper Ref PN1995 N34 1983

 

 ____________________________________________________________________________________

Note:  This guide contains a sampling of the many resources used to find film reviews.  If you are unable to locate your film review in one of these resources, please Ask a Librarian for further assistance.

RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip