This is the "Getting started" page of the "HIST 498: American Society, Culture & Politics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 498: American Society, Culture & Politics   Tags: history, united_states_history  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/hist498 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian

Profile Image
Kathy Snediker
Contact Info
803-777-2346
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Click on the image below to chat live with a librarian!

See more options to Ask a Librarian for assistance.

Online Reference Books

Find quality background information online! Search the full-text or browse by subject. Off campus access for USC Columbia students, faculty, and staff.

  • American Decades
    Use the dropdown on the right to select the volume/decade for your topic.
  • Oxford Companion to United States History
    Covers political, social, and cultural history of the US.
  • Americans at War
    Covers major American conflicts in the context of social and cultural events, including the Antiwar Movement and the Cuban Missile Crisis. Volume 4 covers 1946 through the present.
  • Presidents: A Reference History
    Covers the life and administration of each president from Washington to George W. Bush. Also includes an entry on the role of the first lady.
 

Reference Books to support your research

This is just a sample of the numerous reference sources available in print that can help you as you conduct research for your paper:

Cover Art
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture
Call Number: E169.1 .G7555 2002 Reference (Columbia Cooper)

Cover Art
The Johnson Years
Call Number: E 840.6 .P43 2006 Reference (Columbia Cooper)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social, and military history
Call Number: DS557.7 .E53 1998 Reference (Columbia Cooper)

Cover Art
The Hippie Dictionary: a cultural encyclopedia (and phraseicon) of the 1960s and 1970s
Call Number: HQ799.7 .M28 2002 Reference (Columbia Cooper)

RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip