Connecting to ResourcesInterlibrary Loan (ILL)Scan & Deliver
This is the "Company Research" page of the "IBUS 426/731 (Rydzewski) Global Competitive Analysis Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IBUS 426/731 (Rydzewski) Global Competitive Analysis Project  

A guide to resources that will be useful for projects in Frank Rydzewski's IBUS 426 course
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/ibus426 Print Guide RSS Updates

Company Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

Bloomberg

Bloomberg Professional is an unparalleled tool for business research.

Check out the Bloomberg Guide for help, or schedule an appointment with Jean Clenney.

Financial Information

For help finding company financial information, see additional research guides on:

Directory Databases for Company Information

  • Kompass
    Worldwide directory of companies. Contains basic data on each company and is good for identifying key personnel. One can search by numerous criteria including a detailed product code and by country.
  • American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
    This directory database from Uniworld contains comprehensive coverage of the overseas holdings of American firms. To search click the button "Search Uniworld Online" found at top of introductory webpage.
  • Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
    Directory information on foreign companies with American operations. Numerous ways to search for specific companies meeting particular criteria.

Top Databases with Company Information

The databases below contain a multitude of data on companies, with some of the most useful and unique highlights noted below.

  • Business Source Complete
    Choose the COMPANY INFORMATION tab for easy searching
    *Journal and trade articles about companies
    *SWOT analysis
    *Quick summaries on financials, products, subsidiaries, and more
    *Related industry and market research reports (MarketLine/Datamonitor, Barnes Reports, MarketWatch, BMI)
  • Mergent Online
    Great coverage for international/multinational companies
    *Company History
    *Business Segments
    *Executive Structure
    *Competitor List
    *Company news and much more
  • Thomson One *Must use Internet Explorer browser*  
      
    *Must use Internet Explorer*
    *Corporate Governance section details takeover defense
    *Officers and Directors
    *Corporate news and events
    *Key ratios
    *Company Research reports (Investext)
  • Business Monitor International
    Company strategy information for some industries
    3 WAYS TO FIND:
    1. Select "Company Intelligence" in left column; Top Multinational Networks gives you a complete listing of available companies
    2. Select and industry then expand "Global Company Strategy"
    3. Use the Keyword Search to enter company name
  • Hoover's Online
    More US companies but also contains multinational companies
    *Competitors and Competitive landscape
    *Products and operations
    *Historical events (may help with Corporate transformation)
    *Easy access to financials and related industry information
  • Passport
    Available Company Profiles (multinational) are found once you select an industry
    *Strategic Direction
    *Competitive Positioning
    *Company Background
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Use Dossier and Company Profiles under COMPANIES directory in Search By Content Type menu
    *Company Hierarchy
    *Intellectual Property information
    *Legal information
    *Bond Ratings
    *Company News
  • Factiva
    Select COMPANIES/MARKETS at top, then COMPANY
    -Search by company name or ticker for company snapshot
    -Find more detailed information by using the menu on left
  • Corporate Affiliations Online
    Historical Comparison function is a great tool for tracking changes in-
    *Products/Brands
    *Industry Code Classification
    *Executives & Directors
    *Financials
  • PrivCo
    *Private Company Information
    -Excellent Corporate History
    -Corporate Organization
    -M&A Deals
    -Funding and restructuring information, if applicable
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip