This is the "Brand and Market Research" page of the "JOUR 458- Creative Strategy in Advertising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JOUR 458- Creative Strategy in Advertising  

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/jour458 Print Guide RSS Updates
Brand and Market Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mintel Oxygen

Mintel Oxygen 

  • Provides market reports that include information such as brand share, market drivers, consumer behavior, and more.
  • Requires creating an account using your university email account
  • Search for market research reports by product (i.e. mustard) or product category (i.e. condiments) to find in-depth market research.
  • Searching by brand may also find shorter news items.

SRDS

The Local Market Audience Analyst is provided by SRDS Media Solutions  and provides reports to help you understand your target audience, their behaviors and their lifestyles. Types of reports:

  • Market Profiles (210 DMAs and over 3,000 counties)
  • Lifestyle Analysis (lifestyle behavior)
  • Demographics
  • Prizm (groupings by lifestyle traits) 

To access, go to SRDS Media Solutions (see link below) and click on Local Market Audiences.  Using this product does require specific system requirements:

  • Only runs with Internet Explorer 5,7,8, or 9.  As of now, this will not work with the most current version of Internet Explorer. See the box below to learn about setting IE to emulate a previous version.
  • Does not support Safari, Chrome, or Firefox.

 Tutorials:

 Local Market Audience Analyst  offers 5 video tutorials:

To interpret the reports, click the small "i" next to each type of report.

  • SRDS Media Solutions  
      
    Provides information for different advertising media (advertising rates, circulation, market analysis, and more). The Local Market Audience module provides data on lifestyles, interests, and hobbies within specific geographic and demographic markets as well as PRIZM segmentation reports. NOTE: The Local Market Audience Analyst module requires Internet Explorer as the browser.
 

Changing Browser Modes in IE to Previous Versions

 

Mediamark Reporter (MRI+)

Mediamark Reporter (MRI+)

  • Contains detailed consumer product usage and media information collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers. Data includes: demographics, lifestyle, product usage and media exposure.
  • Requires registration using your university email.
  • Only works using the browsers FireFox or Internet Explorer

Trade Publications

Search in the databases linked below for your brand, parent company, product (i.e. mustard), and/or product category (i.e. condiments.)

  • Try limiting your results to trade publications to find news and trends about your brand/company, product, or product category
  • You may also find articles about past and future advertising campaigns for some brands
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip