Electronic Resources
Use these library databases to search for information about your chosen career:
- Ferguson's Career Guidance CenterA total career exploration tool that includes job and industry profiles, workplace skills, and career resources
- Vocational and Career CollectionSearch for articles in trade- and industry-related periodicals
- Business Source CompleteSearch in academic journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers - try "career development" as a subject term
Comments (0)
Newspaper Articles
Try these databases for locating newspaper articles online.
- LexisNexis AcademicExcellent source of news coverage, particularly for international and non-English language papers
- State NewspaperFind articles from Columbia's major newspaper from 1987 to the present
- Wall Street Journal (from Factiva)Available only from computers located in the Business School
Catalog Search
| Classic Catalog Search |
Try a subject or keyword search for your chosen career and look for the subheading "vocational guidance."
For example:
Accounting -- Vocational Guidance
Marketing -- Vocational Guidance
Click the Request button (with the red check mark) in the catalog to ask for an item to be delivered to your preferred pickup location. Works for items in the Annex and on other USC campuses!
Order Books
If the library does not have a book you need, we have services available to help you get it.
- Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan is a free service to students, faculty and staff. Request a book and ILL staff will find it at another library and have it sent to your preferred pickup location.
- PASCAL DeliversPASCAL Delivers lets you request books from other college and university libraries in SC. Request pick up at any campus library. Click here or use the link in the catalog to access this service.
- ErequestSuggest that the library purchase a book to add to our collection. First time? Start by clicking on "User Access" and then "Create an eRequest Account" to the right.
Resources on the Internet
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Wage DataProvides wage data by occupation at the national, regional, and state levels and also many major metropolitan areas
- Occupational Outlook HandbookNationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide assistance to people making decisions about their future careers. The Handbook is revised every two years. (2010-2011 edition)
- Springs Library Job and Career SitesProvides links for numerous selected career sites, such as "Careers in Business" and "What do I do with a Major in...?"
- University Career CenterUSC's Career Center's Web Resources organized by subject area.
Career Library
The Career Center Library's holdings are not listed in the University Libraries' online catalog. To search the Career Center Library catalog, click on the link below:



Loading...
