Commodity-Specific Resources
- Doing Research on CommoditiesGreat research guide with helpful links to resources on commodities
Comments (0)
Books in Springs Library
- The CRB Commodity YearbookThe 2012 edition is located in the Business Reference section of Springs Business Library
- World's Futures & Options MarketsLatest edition in Business Reference
- International Trade by Commodities Statistics [Online resource]OECD’s reliable source of annual data providing detailed import and export data in US dollars broken down by commodity and by partner country.
- Encyclopedia of Products & Industries--ManufacturingLatest edition in Business Reference
- Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A.: Industry analyses, statistics, and leading companiesLatest edition in Business Reference
- The Supply Management HandbookCovers commodity supply management
- Commodity Prices and MarketsCovers the difficulty in forecasting commodity prices and the relationship with commodities and the domestic economy
- Commodity Prices: A Sourcebook and IndexLocated in Business Reference section
Online Reference Book
- Gale's How Products are MadeExplains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery.
Databases
- Business Monitor InternationalBusiness Monitor International is the best resource at USC for Commodities coverage, both in the US and internationally
*Select COMMODITIES in the left column and narrow to the relative commodity
*Country coverage may be limited by selecting a country at the top - Business Source CompleteUseful industry information and associated trade publications
TIP: Try using the *wildcard to expand your search (Ex. commodit*) - Factiva*Contains news resources and trade publications for the latest information on commodities, including full-text of Wall Street Journal
TIP: Go to Search-->Search Builder-->select Subject-->expand Commodity/Financial Market News until you find a specific commodity-->Adjust the date and press Search
*Can also search by industry - Bloomberg TerminalThere is a Bloomberg terminal located in the business library that can be used for commodities research.
[Note: This link is for the guide to help you use Bloomberg.]
Internet Resources
These links should help you locate useful websites specifically for commodity information.
- Barron's Online Commodities Center
- Big ChartsA service of Market Watch, includes basic, advanced & interactive charts
- Bloomberg Commodities
- Chicago Merchantile Exchange
- CNN Money/Commodities
- Forbes/CommoditiesTIP: Must first click 'Continue to Site' in top right corner
- FutureSource
- How to Trade Commodities
- International Commodities Exchange
- US Commodities Futures Trading Commission
- IMF Primary Commodity Market ReviewUpdated Commodity Market section from the World Economic Outlook by the International Monetary Fund
- Production, Supply and Distribution OnlineUSDA Foreign Agricultural Service provides reports and statistics by commodity.
- Commodity World Production, Market and Trade ReportsProvides both global and domestic outlook of specific commodity, as well as historical data--prices, production, consumption, etc.
- WSJ Market Data CenterCommodities & Futures Overview
Resources by Commodity Type
- U.S. Grains Council Suppliers ListIn addition to suppliers, find information on buying & selling of different grains, as well as updated market data
- Pricing Charts by CommodityDaily commodity/futures charts are updated every market day
- Free Historical Futures Price Data [Turtle Trader]The data encompasses most major contracts on US futures exchanges dating back to the 1970's.
-Easily imported into most spreadsheets or trading software products.
-Date, open, high, low, close, volume and open interest are columns. - Energy Information AdministrationOfficial energy statistics from the United States government
- CommodityMine*Metals*
-Includes pricing, commodity news, and upcoming mining events - National Agricultural Statistics ServiceGet statistics on animals & crops
Distribution/Logistics
- Logistics Resources from globalEDGEDirectory of resources for international logistics, import/export resources, and other supply chain management solutions.
- International Logistics from Export.govInformation on INCOTERMS and export documents
- Export TutorialsFAQs on regulations, costs, sales & marketing, & logistics
- KompassFind distributors by location or industry
- World Bank Doing Business inVery detailed guide to conducting business in economies around the globe.
*Includes cost to export and import, tax considerations, required documentation, etc. - Business Monitor InternationalCountry specific information on freight transport and shipping



Loading...
