Connecting to ResourcesInterlibrary Loan (ILL)Scan & Deliver
This is the "Articles/News" page of the "Small Business/Entrepreneurship Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Small Business/Entrepreneurship Guide   Tags: business, entrepreneur, small_business  

Entrepreneurs can use this guide to find resources for their small business research
Last Updated: Jun 25, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/smallbiz Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles/News Print Page
  Search: 
 

Articles in Newspapers

Try these databases for locating newspaper articles online. 
  • Factiva
    *Contains major news and trade publications, including Wall Street Journal
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Business news resources such as New York Times and Financial Times
  • Business Source Complete
    Business magazines and newspapers including Economist, BusinessWeek, Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune, and many more
  • America's News
    Contains South Carolina newspapers among others

Databases

  • Hoover's Online
    From home page, select INDUSTRIES tab and use a keyword search or select "Browse Hoover's Industries"
    Contains great information for:
    *Industry growth
    *Top Companies
    *Trends and Opportunities
    *Business Challenges
    *Industry Indicators
    *Related Associations
    *Much more
  • IBISWorld  
      
    The first place to look for in-depth and very current US industry information.
    Great US and China coverage; Search by company or industry
    *Industry Market Research contain:
    -Competitive Landscape--Market share, key success factors, etc.
    -Consumer Demographics
  • Mintel Reports Database
    YOU MUST REGISTER WITH DATABASE BEFORE YOU CAN SEARCH. USE YOUR CAMPUS EMAIL ADDRESS WHEN REGISTERING.
    Contains in-depth reports on consumer goods industries for both US and overseas markets.
    Covers competition, consumer demographics and market share.
  • Passport
    *Industry, Consumer and Country data
    INDUSTRIES--use the Quick Analysis Finder to access Country reports, Company profiles, Global reports, Latest News all by industry
    COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS--view consumer trends, lifestyles, and other information (past & forecasted) by country
    **Be sure to check out the DASHBOARDS search option. This interactive tool lets you visualize the data with creative use of maps, charts and graphs.
  • Mergent Online
    Covers all public companies in the US and overseas. Gives detailed facts about the company and extensive financial data. Also includes complete annual reports for the most recent 10 years and SEC filings including 10-K reports through EDGAR.
  • Small Business Reference Center
    *Includes MarketLine/Datamonitor industry profiles
    *Identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
    *Detailed statistical reports by NAICS code.
    *Offers full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
  • Business Source Complete
    *Contains scholarly business and economics journals, business magazines and trade journals
    *Company information, industry reports and country reports from top sources such as Datamonitor and EIU
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source
    -Over 125 key periodicals and 135 reference books
    -Case studies
    -Company profiles
    -Over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and VatorTV, one of the world's largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs.
  • Gale Directory Library
    *Market Share Reporter*
    contains market share information for companies and brands
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns can be found under Subjects in Business
    *Past advertising campaigns for major companies
  • Business Monitor International
    *Industry Forecast Reports contain:
    -Competitive Landscape
    -Market Structure
    *Country Risk--includes strategies, macroeconomic indicators, and Risk/Reward Ratings
  • Thomson One *Must use Internet Explorer browser*  
      
    *Must use Internet Explorer*
    INVESTEXT analyst reports, including Marketline (formerly Datamonitor), include Market Research Reports and Industry Profiles
    FIND: Select "Screening & Analysis" in left column-->Under Advanced Search, enter keywords or NAICS/SIC code-->type "Marketline" in Contributor box (Note: when you begin to type, Marketline options will appear)
  • Mediamark Internet Reporter
    **Registration is required using your USC email account**
    Provides consumer magazine audience data, measuring the readership of over 230 magazines in the United States.
  • Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)  
      
    Provides coverage of sporting goods, sports e-commerce, sport marketing, sport sponsorship, sport facilities and sport broadcasting
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip