Connecting to ResourcesInterlibrary Loan (ILL)Scan & Deliver
This is the "Companies" page of the "MGSC 487 (Gaffney) Sourcing Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MGSC 487 (Gaffney) Sourcing Project  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/sourcing Print Guide RSS Updates

Companies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selecting a company

Taking a few minutes to research companies before submitting your chosen company will save you many headaches later in the semester. Review this document for tips.

Company Strategies

The databases below are our best for finding company strategy information. Note: These databases do not contain every company.

  • Business Monitor International
    Provides country risk; industry analysis and forecasts; and company information. Get detailed information on a country along with reports and data on industries and the economy. Provides profiles of leading companies within the industry.
  • Business Source Complete
    Full text articles and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
  • Thomson One *Must use Internet Explorer browser*  
      
    *Must use Internet Explorer*
    Details on strategy often come from reading analysts reports in ThomsonONE and listening or reading to a company's conference call transcripts.
  • Passport
    Provides business intelligence on industries, market data & forecasts, and consumer lifestyles, as well as analysis of the economy, infrastructure, and business environment in over 200 countries.
  • IBISWorld
    Industry market research reports.
  • Mintel Reports Database
    Market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Also includes Travel and Tourism reports for countries worldwide.

    *Registration is required using a USC Columbia campus email address.*

Directory Databases for Company Information

  • Kompass
    Worldwide directory of companies. Contains basic data on each company and is good for identifying key personnel. One can search by numerous criteria including a detailed product code and by country.
  • American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
    This directory database from Uniworld contains comprehensive coverage of the overseas holdings of American firms. To search click the button "Search Uniworld Online" found at top of introductory webpage.
  • Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
    Directory information on foreign companies with American operations. Numerous ways to search for specific companies meeting particular criteria.

Financial Information

For help finding company financial information, see additional research guides on:

Top Databases with Company Information

The databases below contain a multitude of data on companies, with some of the most useful and unique highlights noted below.

  • Business Source Complete
    Choose the COMPANY INFORMATION tab for easy searching
    *Journal and trade articles about companies
    *SWOT analysis
    *Quick summaries on financials, products, subsidiaries, and more
    *Related industry and market research reports (MarketLine/Datamonitor, Barnes Reports, MarketWatch, BMI)
  • Business Monitor International
    Company strategy information for some industries
    3 WAYS TO FIND:
    1. Select "Company Intelligence" in left column; Top Multinational Networks gives you a complete listing of available companies
    2. Select and industry then expand "Global Company Strategy"
    3. Use the Keyword Search to enter company name
  • Passport
    Available Company Profiles (multinational) are found once you select an industry
    *Strategic Direction
    *Competitive Positioning
    *Company Background
  • Factiva
    Select COMPANIES/MARKETS at top, then COMPANY
    -Search by company name or ticker for company snapshot
    -Find more detailed information by using the menu on left
  • Mergent Online
    Great coverage for international/multinational companies
    *Company History
    *Business Segments
    *Executive Structure
    *Competitor List
    *Company news and much more
  • Hoover's Online
    More US companies but also contains multinational companies
    *Competitors and Competitive landscape
    *Products and operations
    *Historical events (may help with Corporate transformation)
    *Easy access to financials and related industry information
  • Thomson One *Must use Internet Explorer browser*  
      
    *Must use Internet Explorer*
    *Corporate Governance section details takeover defense
    *Officers and Directors
    *Corporate news and events
    *Key ratios
    *Company Research reports (Investext)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Select Get Company Info at bottom right, then open Company Dossier to search for company information
    *Company Hierarchy
    *Intellectual Property information
    *Legal information
    *Bond Ratings
    *Company News
  • Corporate Affiliations Online
    Historical Comparison function is a great tool for tracking changes in-
    *Products/Brands
    *Industry Code Classification
    *Executives & Directors
    *Financials
  • PrivCo
    *Private Company Information
    -Excellent Corporate History
    -Corporate Organization
    -M&A Deals
    -Funding and restructuring information, if applicable
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip