This is the "Finding Sources" page of the "SPCH230: Guide for Research in Business and Professional Speaking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SPCH230: Guide for Research in Business and Professional Speaking   Tags: public_speaking, spch_230  

Look here for help in completing research for your course assignments...
Last Updated: Jan 18, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.sc.edu/spch230 Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Define Your Topic

Take a few minutes to think about your topic. You will need to break your topic down into keywords to search for resources, typing in a question or a phrase is not very effective.

What if your topic was "how media images contribute to eating disorders in women"? What keywords could you extract from that sentence?

Media images (or mass media or advertising or ?)

Eating disorders (or anorexia or bulimia or obesity or ?)

Now that you have some keywords you are ready to search for information. Try combining the terms in different ways to get different results.

Examples:

mass media and eating disorders

advertising and eating disorders

media and anorexia

Find Articles

For these assignments you have the option of selecting topics of interest from a variety of subject areas including business, science, medicine, and education. The following databases provide articles from many sources in most disciplines.   

 

Getting the full text of an article

1.  Some databases will have links to the full text of the article right in the database.  The articles usually have a link for either HTML Full Text  or PDF Full Text under the citation information. 

2.  If a full text link does not appear, click the Find Text Image button.  The Find Text button searches the Libraries' e-journals list.

3.  If the article isn't available online, search the library catalog to see if the journal is on the library shelves. Come to the library and get the article or USC students, faculty and staff can use Scan and Deliver through your interlibrary loan account. The article will be scanned and delivered electronically to your desktop. 

4.  When we don't have the publication, but you really want the article you can request it through Interlibrary Loan [ILL].  First time you use ILL you'll need to register.

Are you a student at a distance?  See what request and delivery services are available to you.

Reference Department

Profile Image
Thomas Cooper Library Reference Department
Contact Info
Main Floor, Thomas Cooper Library
University of South Carolina
803-777-4866
Send Email
 
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip