Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A complete list of business databases available
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides global business and financial information. The database includes current and archival U.S. Company data, international data, full text annual reports, SEC filings and historical stock prices. Also includes executive biographies, competitive landscape data, global industry profiles, and equity research reports.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Brief company descriptions and financials for over 10,000 companies and approximately 4,000 company profiles plus industry information. (Not compatible with mobile devices - use desktop/laptop only.)
Mintel Reports Database This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International marketplaces including food and drink, retail and apparel, technology, travel, and more. Also includes demographics and lifestyles.
Sample Business Plans
Provides over 100 free examples of business and marketing plans. [Note: The website also promotes Business Plan Pro software.]
Sample business plans for a variety of different industries provided by Wall Street Journal's MiniPlan service.
Center for Business Planning
Examples of business plans presented by MBAs at the Moot Corp Competition.
Encyclopedia of Small Business
The Business Plans section is composed of actual business plans written by entrepreneurs in North America who are seeking financing for their business.
Read more: http://www.referenceforbusiness.com/business-plans/#ixzz1uxVx7gua
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Business Plans & Profiles Index
This index lists types of small businesses and a corresponding sample business plan, profile or book about the business with sources provided after each entry.
Business Plans Handbooks (11 volumes)
This Business Plans section of Encyclopedia of Small Business is composed of actual business plans written by entrepreneurs in North America who are seeking financing for their business.
Score Business Plan Templates
SCORE is a nonprofit association dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals through education and mentorship. Business plan templates are provided for a start-up business, established business, nonprofit, and others.
Business plans are an integral part of communicating the viability of the business model. They can serve as the operating guidelines, describing the goals and organizing the details of the conceptual model.
"Business plans don't exist to predict the future, they exist to manage the future." -Tim Berry
Videos & Podcasts
How to Write a Business Plan
This session will provide practical insight into how to write a winning business plan, as well as provide both a VC's and an entrepreneur's perspective on business plans. The presentation will address the nuts and bolts detail of what is important in a plan.
Creating a Business Plan Podcast
Don Martin, Business Counselor and Trainer from the Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center at Kutztown University, discusses having a good business plan if you are thinking about starting or expanding a small business.
SCORE - Small Business Success
Listen to interviews of the best and brightest in the world of small business, covering topics such as business plans, securing financing, marketing, human resources, online marketing, social media, SEO and more.