Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Databases and Guides
Small Business Reference Center
-Includes MarketLine industry profiles: identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
-Detailed statistical reports by NAICS code.
-Offers full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
Mintel Reports Database
*Industry reports--narrowed to specifics within industry and geography; give breakdown of market issues, drivers, strengths & weaknesses
*Market data--channels to market, segment performance, consumer usage & barriers, and more
*Company Profiles (limited information)
Great US and China coverage; Search by company or industry
*Industry Market Research contain:
-Competitive Landscape--Market share, key success factors, etc.
*Market Research Reports
Use the Companies/Markets tab to find sub-categories for Industry information and market charting tools
*Contains major news and trade publications, including Wall Street Journal
*Industry, Consumer and Country data
INDUSTRIES--use the Quick Analysis Finder to access Country reports, Company profiles, Global reports, Latest News all by industry
COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS--view consumer trends, lifestyles, and other information (past & forecasted) by country Note: always have to select "Accept" on first screen
From home page, select INDUSTRIES tab and use a keyword search or select "Browse Hoover's Industries"
Contains great information for:
*Trends and Opportunities
*Industry Reports--Short summaries of current environment, industry profile, market trends and outlook, and country profiles
FIND: Select Report Search tab at top-->select Industry Reports-->search by industry, country, or region
Gale Directory Library
*Market Share Reporter*
contains market share information for companies and brands
Business Source Complete
Narrow your search by selecting "Industry Profile" under Publication Type in Advanced Search
*Contains Barnes Reports, Marketline/Datamonitor Reports, Business Monitor Reports, among others (Note: you can also use these publications in your keyword searches)
Provides resources for finding-
*Market share, size & forecasts
*Advertising stats & expenditures
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns can be found under Subjects in Business
*Past advertising campaigns for major companies
Business Source Complete
Use the term marketing strategy and your company
Includes marketing strategies for certain companies