Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Explore library resources by subject, content type or vendor.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
 
New
Get online access to unique primary source collections from archives around the world by searching across all Adam Matthew Digital modules available through the library.
New
Presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
New
Includes materials from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
New
Browse a wide range of rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, and artwork related to the westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.
New
Provides British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980, including previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events.
New
Archive of the influential African American newspaper reporting on community and national issues.
New
Highlights include records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, the Robert F. Williams Papers, and records pertaining to the Mississippi Freedom Summer.
New
Archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
New
Provides access to extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, as well as scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors’ choices from the collection.
New
Discover over 200 years of Chinese history, charting the monumental social and political upheaval that recreated China as a modern power.
New
Provides publications from the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century. Includes news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.
New
Provides access to the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. (Library subscription access available to modules 1 and 2.)
New
Primary source material from the British Foreign Office covering the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the African continent from the British Government’s perspective.
New
Primary source material from the British Foreign Office covering Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes and more.
New
Primary source material from the British Foreign Office covering countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
New
Primary source material from the British Foreign Office covering the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb.
New
Huge collection of U.S. and international statistics and datasets. Includes data analysis tools and customizable data visualizations.
New
Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
New
Documents from the earliest iterations of the Senate and the House of Representatives that convened in New York and then in Philadelphia from March 1789 to March 1791.
New
Primary documentary sources dealing with the debate over the ratification of the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights between 1787 and 1791, including legislative records, private papers, newspapers, broadsides, and pamphlets.
New
Includes primary source documents, mostly the Larpent collection of plays and Anna Larpent's Diaries, as well as the London Stage Database and the Biographical Dictionary Database.
New
Provides access to rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835 which illuminate all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered include colonial life, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
New
Includes manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials, spanning across the last five centuries, for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. There are also secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
New
Supports the study of American social, cultural and popular history by providing access to rare primary source material, including books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides.
New
Search for primary resources, including rare printed materials, military files, artwork and audio-visual files related to the First World War. Covers four themes: Personal experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives and Narratives, and Global Conflict.
New
Provides access to all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, covering major topics like the Chinese civil war, war with Japan, and the Communist Revolution and rule.
New
Files cover major events from the perspective of British officialdom, including independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.
New
Essential resource for understanding the events in the Middle East during the 1970s, including diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries and personality profiles.
New
Collection of primary source documents related to existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920 and the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples, including various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia.
New
Provides access to manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
New
Provides a unique collection of accounts of the English abroad in Europe from c1550-1850, including letters, diaries and journals, account books, printed guidebooks, published travel writing, paintings and sketches, architectural drawings and maps.
New
Explore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, through the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland.
New
Primary sources designed to explore the history of Jewish communities in America, from the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture to Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.
New
Covering the period of about 1850-1980, these guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
New
From the 19th-century holdings of the Berg Collection of English and American Literature at the New York Public Library, this resource features collections from 15 prominent authors of Victorian literature.
New
This collection of 17th- and 18th-century poetry from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds, includes original compositions, copied verses, translations, songs and riddles as well as an assortment of manuscripts containing medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays.
New
This collection brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London through rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials, offering insight into the dark underworld of the city.
New
Provides access to complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees and files from the Prime Minister's Private Office.
New
Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognised ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
New
Makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, a pioneering social research organisation in Britian, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
New
Access images of the original medieval manuscripts from five major family letter collections from fifteenth-century England. Also included are a chronology, a visual sources gallery, an interactive map, a glossary, family trees, and links to other free scholarly resources about the medieval period.
New
Provides manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, but also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land.
New
Digitized collections, including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts, of Edward Morse. Morse is famous for his work in ethnology and the documentation of life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization.
New
Access primary sources documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Concentrating on the period from 1800 to the modern era, sources include oral histories, personal accounts, legal papers, ship logs, photographs, leaflets, pamphlets, maps and more.
Trial
Access the full text of the MLA Handbook 9th edition online now, with additional guides and video tutorials coming soon.

Trial access available through Nov. 5, 2021. Please share your input on this product.
New
The complete British Foreign Office files for the entire period of Richard Nixon’s presidency offer a different perspective and context from across the Atlantic on foreign policy, social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment.
New
Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.
New
Discover manuscripts written or compiled by women authors in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries who were once considered “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form.
New
Learn about careers, receive personalized recommendations, create resumes, search for jobs and schools, and get career advice.
New
Explore the social, political and cultural changes during this period through manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera, memorabilia, and extensive visual resources and video footage.
New
Resources cover 19th-century popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine and hydrotherapy, and document the rise of widespread advertising by commercial manufacturers of medical aids. Included material was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals.
New
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department’s staff and annual institute participants.
Trial
Full archive of the influential magazine covering music as well as film and other popular culture back to 1967.

Trial access available through Oct. 31, 2021. Please share your input on this product.
New
Literary sources emphasize William Wordsworth and several contemporaries of the Romantic period. Fine art pieces include works by eminent artists J.M.W. Turner, John Constable, and others. Documents include verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps.
New
Provides a variety of material types, including books, reference works, case studies, videos, and journal articles, related to research methodology.
New
Prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
New
Access hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century, including a wide variety of forms of travel writing from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks, postcards, sketches and photographs.
Trial
Point-of-care clinical resource specifically created to assist with diagnosis and treatment.

Trial access available through Oct. 31, 2021. Please share your input on this product.
New
Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. Our subscription includes all four modules: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.
New
Includes the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London edited by Kingsbury, as well as the papers and prints of the Ferrar family, and transcriptions of some surviving documents.
New
Access original documents covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928, and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962. Also includes a detailed and extensive finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives.
New
Discover official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts related to North American exhibitions, fairs around the world, and twenty-first century expos.
Loading...
Loading...