Mechanical Engineering Research Guide

Major database for electrical engineering and computer science literature, featuring high-quality content from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

Access to Compendex, the comprehensive database for Engineering research, and Inspec, the premier database for physics and related areas.

Indexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.

A database of over 10,000 significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances, containing physical property data, safety data, literature references, and structures. Also includes Organic Name Reactions, which describes organic chemical reactions which have come to be recognized and referred to by name within the chemistry community.

First time users must register for SciFinder

Provides access to the full Chemical Abstracts database with citations to the literature of chemistry and patents, as well as compound information and substructure and reaction searching.

Once you register you can use SciFinder Mobile .

Search the research publications produced by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Only the titles to which USC Columbia subscribes are available full text.

Full text access to the research journals produced by the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Covers a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering.

Search journals in the sciences as well as some business, social sciences, and humanities titles. Only those journals to which USC Columbia subscribes are available full text.

Provides binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams from over 9,000 inorganic systems, with associated crystal and reaction data.

This database includes the Materials Science & Engineering Collection, providing access to 65 peer-reviewed international journals, including the celebrated Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Only those journals to which USC-Columbia subscribes are available full text.

Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.

Citations, abstracts, and often full text for dissertations and theses, primarily from North American institutions.

Connect directly to USC subscription content:
*Click on the three horizontal bars in the corner, Select Settings and click on Library links
*Search and select UofSC University Libraries - ViewIt@UofSC
*Click Save
Never purchase an article! Check the library's resources or make a free ILL request.