Library Guides: Current News and Media Sources: Be in the Know

Higher Education

Some of the best resources for news and updates specific to higher education. Create personal accounts and sign up for newsletters and email alerts.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Read unlimited articles through USC's subscription on the CHE site. Log in first with this link and then sign up for a free personal account. Then you can receive email alerts and subscribe to newsletters.

Inside Higher Ed
Register for a free account to read unlimited articles; no subscription required. Provides news and analysis for the higher education community.
dotEDU Podcast
"Higher Ed policy explained" from the American Council on Education. Sign up for the mailing list for invitations to the live recordings. Episodes are available through Apple, Spotify, Amazon, and YouTube.

National and International News

Direct Access on Web and Mobile

Currently, these are the major news sources made available directly through the publications' websites and mobile apps for free through the library.

New York Times - Online Pass
Get unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.
Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership
Create an account for free individual access to the Wall Street Journal for USC Columbia students, faculty, and staff through WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, subscriber-only podcasts and videos. You must use your university email address to register for your account.
Economist, The
Independent global news reporting with an international perspective on business, geopolitics, technology, and culture. Signing in with your university credentials will create an individual account on the Economist.com site and allow you to use the mobile app.

Database Access from Third-Party Vendors

These subscription resources provide access through library vendor platforms. The content is the same, but the formatting is different than direct web access.

The Atlantic
This link directs to both the flagship magazine and web-only articles. Search for article titles that you find on the web to get access to the text. Content includes news, politics, culture, technology, health, and more.

Global Newsstream
Search for recent news content from across the globe all at once, including major U.S. papers such as NYT, WSJ, LA Times, and Chicago Tribune, as well as international news in multiple languages. Some archives go back to the 1980s.
Access World News
News from 1978 to current. Search globally or restrict your search to a world region, country, state, or language.

Local and Regional News

Most Recent Issues

Browse today's issue or search by topic or article title. Both papers are provided in either a text-only version or full color image view of the print paper layout.

State Newspaper (Text only)
Easily browse or search The State newspaper and read text of articles (no images). Today's issue is sometimes delayed.
State Newspaper (Image view)
Browse by date or search within recent issues of The State. Results will be full color images of the print newspaper pages.
Post and Courier (Text only)
Easily browse or search The Post and Courier (Charleston, SC) and read text of articles (no images).
Post and Courier (Image view)
Browse by date or search within the most recent issues of The Post and Courier (Charleston, SC). Results will be full color images of the print newspaper pages.

Full Historical Archives and Related Publications

The links below allow searching across every issue back to the first publications, including any blogs, web-only content, or regional titles that have existed.

State Newspaper (1891-present)
Keyword-searchable, online access to the entire historical archive of Columbia's newspaper from 1891 up to today's issue.
Post and Courier (1873-current)
Keyword-searchable, online access to the entire historical archive of all related titles from 1873 up to today's issues, including regional editions and web articles. Materials from 2012 to 2013 currently unavailable.

Current News and Media Sources

2025 Faculty Survey

Ask a Librarian Help