General advice
Your search strategies may vary depending on: how unique is the scholar's name, has the scholar's name changed while he/she has been publishing, is your scholar really prolific or at an early stage.
When searching for articles written by a scholar, see if the database has an author index and select from it. If not, clue in to how the database lists authors. For example, should you search with initials or full first name?
Writings by your scholar
- Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection. Expand your search to PASCAL Delivers to find and request materials from other South Carolina academic libraries.
- GoogleDoes your scholar have her/his own web page or posted a copy of their vitae?
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and often full text for dissertations and theses, primarily from North American institutions.
- Education Source and ERIC This link opens in a new windowCombined direct access to both of the major education databases.
- ERIC and Education Source at a GlanceQuick tips on searching the main education databases and getting the articles, dissertations, and books that you find. The two page handout has embedded videos.
- Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983 This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in education periodicals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowConnect directly to USC subscription content:
*Click on the three horizontal bars in the corner, Select Settings and click on Library links
*Search and select UofSC University Libraries - ViewIt@UofSC
*Click Save
Never purchase an article! Check the library's resources or make a free ILL request.
How others use your scholar's work
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowConnect directly to USC subscription content:
*Click on the three horizontal bars in the corner, Select Settings and click on Library links
*Search and select UofSC University Libraries - ViewIt@UofSC
*Click Save
Never purchase an article! Check the library's resources or make a free ILL request. - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.
Context
Want some background on the issues your scholar researches? When searching Find It@USC Libraries in "Articles, books and more" besides looking at the immediate results, check the Resources Type filter, Reference entries.
- SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and InstructionAvailable online from several providers.
- Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 120 subject encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in business and the social sciences.
- Education Source and ERIC This link opens in a new windowCombined direct access to both of the major education databases.
Biographical Background
Start with Google, but sources found through the library could add to your understanding. When searching Find It@USC Libraries, search with your scholar's name in "Articles, books and more" then check the Resources Type filter, Reference entries.
- Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection.
- Biographical DatabasesSome will give you fulltext, others just point you.