Call Number: N 40 .B4713 2006 (Thomas Cooper Library, Reference, Main Level)
Originally published in 1911 as Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs & graveurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays. Covers artists from the 5th century BCE to the mid-20th century, including many minor names. Includes both Western and Eastern art. Symbols and signatures are reproduced in facsimile (also includes an alphabetical list of signatures used by anonymous artists).
Call Number: N 40 .H38 (Thomas Cooper Library, Reference, Main Level)
This volume is an attempt at providing an index for the location of artists' biographies. It includes works in ten languages, and for each artist includes the following: the artist's name, dates, nationality, and media employed. A three-letter code is used to list the volume in the bibliography which includes the artists' biography. Entries include variant spellings, pseudonyms, and alternate names. Artists are also indexed under variant names.
Call Number: N40 .A63 1992 (Thomas Cooper Library Reference, Main Level)
This large set includes painters, graphic artists, sculptors, architects, and decorative artists of all nationalities; excludes photographers. Entries provide biographical data and "creative characteristics" (for artists born pre-1940), locations of artists' works, references to writings by the artist, listing of exhibitions (solo and group), and bibliographies. Language: German.
Call Number: N40 .V6 (Thomas Cooper Library, Reference, Main Level)
Covers for 20th century artists (a continuation of Thieme-Becker). Includes some overlap from the 19th century. Includes brief biographical notes, lists of works, and bibliographical references. Language: German.
Call Number: N31 .D5 1996 (Thomas Cooper Library, Reference, Main Level)
Approximately 41,000 articles, 15,000 illustrations, and 6,802 contributing scholars from 120 countries. With the exception of film, all the visual arts are examined. Includes biographies of both Western and non-Western artists as well as major entries on art styles, subjects, and media.
Deals with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art. There are articles on all subject areas in American fine art including: biographies of major artists, architects and patrons, architecture, painting, new media, photography, sculpture, installation art, performance art, new media art, art education, and more.