NURS 435

• EBP assignment must have a minimum of seven pages (entire 7th page) and no longer than eight (8 pages).  Note, do not count the title and reference pages in you total page count.  
• Write in complete sentences. 
• Use APA format.  You must use first level headers.
• Paraphrase!  Do not use direct quotes.  Remember, paraphrased content requires both in-text and reference page citations.
• Use a minimum of five (5) peer reviewed sources.  The articles must be peer-reviewed. They must be from nursing journals published in the United States.  No international journals can be used.  No textbooks are permitted.  
• Remember, American nursing journals will also publish articles from an international perspectives/research. Look for authors with US affiliations. 
• Articles must be published within five (5) years.

Two Methods to Locate American Nursing Journals

• No method is flawless.  Each method will retrieve results that cannot be used for this assignment. Check your results carefully. The rules below apply to the Evidence-Based Project.
• Your articles must be:
  • Peer-reviewed
  • Published in an American Nursing journal
  • Published within 5 years 
  • Remember, American nursing journals will also publish articles from an international perspectives/research. Look for authors with US affiliations.

Method 1: Using the Advance Search Options

1. Go to CINAHL Ultimate: sc.edu/libraries > databases > click on "C" > scroll to CINAHL Ultimate

2. In CINAHL, scroll down below the search boxes. Under filters ...

• Check the Peer Reviewed box
• Adjust to publication date - Past 5 years or use the Custom Range.
• Scroll until you see - Journal Subset. Select Nursing.
• Under Geographic Subset, select USA.  It is the last option.

4.  Scroll back up to the top of the page and enter your keywords.

5.  Hit Search.

Tips:

• If you find a related article, please check the subject headings. These may help you come up with better terms for your search.
• Check the list for Nursing journals. CINAHL includes several multi-disciplinary journals that may not satisfy your requirements.
• Be sure to brainstorm your keywords: ICU OR intensive care OR critical care
• If all fails, try changing the keywords to ALL Fields.
• Read the articles carefully. Be sure that the meet ALL of your requirements!

Method 2: CINAHL Search within Specific Journals

Overall Directions

1. Select a topical subset of nursing journals below and paste the provided search string into the first search box.
2. Enter your keywords in the second search box.
3. Set your publication date limits.
4. Check the Peer-Reviewed box.
5. Evaluation your results carefully!

Journal Subset Options

Option 1: Critical Care/Intensive Care/Emergency Nursing

Includes: AACN Advanced Critical Care, Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal, American Journal of Critical Care, Critical Care Nurse, Critical Care Nursing Clinics of North America, Critical Care Nursing Quarterly, Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing, and Journal of Trauma Nursing

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 2: Maternal & Pediatric Nursing

Includes: Advances in Neonatal Care; JOGNN: Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing; Journal of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nursing; Journal of Pediatric Oncology Nursing; Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing; Journal of School Nursing; MCN: The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing; NASN School Nurse; Pediatric Nursing; Neonatal Network; and Women's Healthcare: A Clinical Journal for NPs.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 3: Medical-Surgical Including Oncology

Includes: American Nurse Journal; AJN: American Journal of Nursing; Cancer Nursing; Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing; Gastroenterology Nursing; Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing; Journal of Doctoral Nursing Practice; Journal for Nurse Practitioners; Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners; Journal of Gerontological Nursing; Journal of Holistic Nursing; Journal of Infusion Nursing; Journal of Oncology Navigation & Survivorship; Journal of Wound, Ostomy & Continence Nursing; MEDSURG Nursing; Nephrology Nursing; Nursing; Nursing Clinics of North America; Nurse Practitioner; Oncology Nursing Form; ORL-Head & Neck Nursing; Orthopaedic Nursing; Pain Management Nursing; Plastic Surgical Nursing; Plastic & Aesthetic Nursing (PAN); Research in Gerontological Nursing; Rehabilitation Nursing; Seminars in Oncology Nursing; and Urologic Nursing.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 4: Nursing Administration

Includes: JONA: Journal of Nursing Administration, Nursing Administration Quarterly, and Nursing Management.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 5: Mental Health Nursing

Includes: Archives of Psychiatric Nursing; Journal of Addictions Nursing; Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association; Journal of Holistic Nursing; and Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

• CINAHL Ultimate is a great place to start.  Below the search boxes, you will see the option to limit to peer-reviewed journals.  You can also limit the publication date to a specific month and year.
• In PubMed, the option to limit by publication date is located on the left side the page.  Under the Publication Date section, select Custom. Enter your allowed date ranges.  Click Apply. 
• PubMed does not have filter for peer-reviewed.  Remember, letters to the editors, commentary, book reviews, and news briefs are not peer-reviewed.  
• There are several ways to check if a journal is peer-reviewed.  
  • Check another databases. In CINAHL Ultimate, look above the search boxes for the Publications tab.  In the Browsing box, enter the journal name.  Locate your journal and click on the record.  Look for the peer-reviewed line.
  • Check the database Ulrich.  In the database, enter the journal name and look for the peer-reviewed symbol.
  • You can also check the journal's website.