Library Guides: Education Data & Statistics Guide: General Education Data & Statistics

National Center for Educational Statistics Training

You will need to create a free account to access the NCES DataLab tools. With an account you will be able to create custom data files, statistical reports, and use the data visualization tools. For more information on using the DataLab you can visit their About page.
Some data collected and stored through the NCES is considered restricted. This data can still be made accessible to you by going through the license request process. If you know you will need restricted data give yourself time to fill out and submit the proper forms and documents. This is an extensive process so make sure you cannot get what you need from publicly available information. More information for license requests can be found in the Restricted-Use Data Procedures Manual.
Even with the publicly available data make sure you understand the permissions for how to ethically use NCES data. You can find their policies and preferred citation on their Permissions Help page.

Learning Modules
The Distance Learning Dataset Training (DLDT) system is an online, interactive tool that allows you to learn about the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) data products across the education spectrum and evaluate them for your particular purposes. The DLDT modules are designed to introduce you to many NCES datasets, their design, and special considerations for analysis to facilitate effective use.
Introduction to NCES WebGateways
Introduction to access data and using the tools located in NCES. This will walk you through some of the most common ways to find data and some of the most frequently used tools.
DataLab Learning Hub
The DataLab Learning Center is a hub for learning materials designed to help analysts understand and use the DataLab tools.

Data Citation Index
Data Citation Index captures metadata from data repositories in the Social Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Arts & Humanities.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online
A reference source for historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history from 1790 to the turn of the 21st century.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
University affiliates can create an account and access the ICPSR archive of research data, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, and terror. More information

Digest of Education Statistics
The Digest of Education Statistics provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from government and private.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
From the primary US entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
NCES DataLab
DataLab is a platform of web-based tools that provide the public with access to data collected by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). DataLab is for researchers, reporters, policy makers, school administrators, students, or anyone interested in education in the United States.
Pew Research Center Datasets
Raw data sets from the Pew Research Center

Sage Data
Huge collection of U.S. and international statistics and datasets. Includes data analysis tools and customizable data visualizations.

South Carolina Statistics and Statistical Reports - SCIway
Largest and most comprehensive directory of information about South Carolina on the Internet.

Statista
Wide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.

U.S. Department of Education Statistics
A hub for educational data and statistics useful for education systems, workforce candidates, parents, and students. Includes statistics for K-12 and higher education.