Library Guides: Exercise Science: Scholarship

H Index

Web of Science Core Collection
Indexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.

You can locate the H Index in the database Web of Science:

From the dropdown menu beside Basic, select Author search
Enter the author's last name and initials
If needed, enter variant names. Select organizations.
Click on the "Create Citation Reports" link on the right side of the screen
Locate the H Index from the results

More About Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

UlrichsWeb: Global Serials Directory
Provides publication, subscription and indexing data on over 210,000 regularly published and irregularly issued serials including over 47,000 cessations since 1979.

Nurse, Author, & Editor
The the Directory of Nursing Journals is a joint service of Nurse Author & Editor and INANE.Our primary goal in maintaining this list is to help nurse authors find suitable and reputable journals in which to publish their work.
Journals in NCBI Databases
Provides information on journals indexed in PubMed and PubMed Central.

Impact Factor - Journal Citation Reports

You can locate information on the Impact Factor of Journals in the database Journal Citation Reports / Web of Science

Select the Science or Social Science edition.
Use the drop-down menu to select the desired year.
Either select a category or a specific journal title.

Journal Citation Reports
Presents quantifiable statistical data on the impact and influence of leading journals in the Sciences and the Social Sciences.

Cabell's

In Cabell's, you can find acceptance rates, manuscript guidelines, and review process information for journals. Search by topic areas, words in journal name, acceptance rate, type of review process, or publisher.

Cabells Scholarly Analytics

Journal Finding Aids from Publishers

Elsevier Journal Finder
Elsevier® Journal Finder helps you find journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. Please also consult the journal’s Aims and Scope for further guidance. Ultimately, the Editor will decide on how well your article matches the journal.
Springer Journal Suggester
Our journal matching technology finds relevant journals based on your manuscript details.

Have you seen?

SHERPA/RoMEO
SHERPA/RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories.
SHERPA Juliet
SHERPA Juliet is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving
SHERPA/FACT
SHERPA/FACT is a tool to help researchers check if the journals in which they wish to publish their results comply with their funder's requirements for open access to research.
JANE
Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find Articles'. Jane will then compare your document to millions of documents in Medline to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.
NIH Public Access Policy
To advance science and improve human health, NIH makes the peer-reviewed articles it funds publicly available on PubMed Central. The NIH public access policy requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to PubMed Central immediately upon acceptance for publication.
Think. Check. Submit.
Think. Check. Submit. provides a easy-to-use checklist that researchers can refer to when they are investigating whether a journal can be trusted.

About Predatory Publishers

Become informed about the problems with Predatory Publishers. Check out the LibGuide on Open Access Resources at: http://guides.library.sc.edu/predatory.

Beall's List of Predatory Journals and Publishers
This is an archived version of the Beall's list - a list of potential predatory publishers created by a librarian Jeffrey Beall. We will only update links and add notes to this list. A list of new predatory publishers is available below the original one.